![]() |
|
|
|||
It's you that's made the assertion...therefore, shouldn't you provide the rule proving it true? It seems the others have provided the rule on how the thrower can violate...and it doesn't mention a violation for simply throwing the ball and causing it to hit the backboard first. Perhaps your claim was true at some point before a rule change?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
To clarify
In FIBA-- a violation if the ball gets wedged-- but not if it hits the backboard or clangs off the rim. I thought those were violations in the US for high school? My understanding was that a inbounds play where the pass first hits the rim or backboard it is a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Been doing FIBA for over 30 years, eh? When's the last time you read the rulebook or the casebook? Pages 9 and 10 of the FIBA Interpretations Manual cover throw-in plays. http://www.fiba.com/downloads/Rules/...ations2012.pdf I bet you're still disallowing substitutions by the defensive team in the frontcourt as well, eh? How about dribblers who are straddling the centre line? Still calling them for over-and-back? I'll bet you get really funny looks when you award "3 to make 2". ![]()
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun. CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check... HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!! |
|
|||
Not that it makes much difference, but isn't that just out of bounds?
|
|
|||
In FIBA
- not a violation to hit the "inbound" parts of the backboard or the rim, however 24" doesn't reset at the hit-rim situation in here. - a violation if the ball gets wedged
__________________
-- Luis ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
17.3.1 The player taking the throw-in shall not: Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball. Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s). Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-in. Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player. Cause the ball to enter the basket directly. Move from the designated throw-in place behind the boundary line, other than from his teams endline after a successful field goal or a successful last free throw, laterally in one (1) or in both directions, exceeding a total distance of one (1) m before releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly back-wards from the boundary line as far as circumstances allow. Seems like I read this recently...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?' West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FIBA Question | Jay R | Basketball | 5 | Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:26am |
FIBA EXAM Question | SmokeEater | Basketball | 9 | Sat Dec 19, 2009 05:02am |
FIBA rules question | jallen | Basketball | 2 | Sun Oct 19, 2008 04:01pm |
FIBA Question | Teigan | Basketball | 17 | Tue Nov 20, 2007 05:01pm |
FIBA Question | Odd Duck | Basketball | 23 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:46pm |