The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 10, 2013, 02:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 280
On inbound, if ball hits backboard, it is a violation. If it hits the rim, it is legal.
__________________
Your reputation precedes you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 10, 2013, 02:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
In FIBA, the only thing illegal on the throw-in is for the ball to be thrown directly into the basket.

17.3.1 The player taking the throw-in shall not:

• Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.

• Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).

• Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-in.

• Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.

• Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.

• Move from the designated throw-in place behind the boundary line, other than from his team’s endline after a successful field goal or a successful last free throw, laterally in one (1) or in both directions, exceeding a total distance of one (1) m before releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly back-wards from the boundary line as far as circumstances allow.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 08:30pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy View Post
In FIBA, the only thing illegal on the throw-in is for the ball to be thrown directly into the basket.

17.3.1 The player taking the throw-in shall not:

• Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.

• Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).

• Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-in.

• Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.

• Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.

• Move from the designated throw-in place behind the boundary line, other than from his team’s endline after a successful field goal or a successful last free throw, laterally in one (1) or in both directions, exceeding a total distance of one (1) m before releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly back-wards from the boundary line as far as circumstances allow.

Just like NFHS, NCAA, and NBA/WNBA.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 10, 2013, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICK View Post
On inbound, if ball hits backboard, it is a violation. If it hits the rim, it is legal.
Not true. See Canuckrefguy post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 280
Where? Show me the rule. Have refereed to FIBA rules for over 30 years, I am quite sure of my reply.
__________________
Your reputation precedes you
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:40am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICK View Post
Where? Show me the rule. Have refereed to FIBA rules for over 30 years, I am quite sure of my reply.
It's you that's made the assertion...therefore, shouldn't you provide the rule proving it true? It seems the others have provided the rule on how the thrower can violate...and it doesn't mention a violation for simply throwing the ball and causing it to hit the backboard first. Perhaps your claim was true at some point before a rule change?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:52am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
To clarify
In FIBA-- a violation if the ball gets wedged-- but not if it hits the backboard or clangs off the rim.

I thought those were violations in the US for high school? My understanding was that a inbounds play where the pass first hits the rim or backboard it is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:58am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
To clarify
In FIBA-- a violation if the ball gets wedged-- but not if it hits the backboard or clangs off the rim.

I thought those were violations in the US for high school? My understanding was that a inbounds play where the pass first hits the rim or backboard it is a violation.
It is a violation for the thrower to cause the ball to get wedged...it's not a violation for the thrower to cause the ball to hit the backboard or rim.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
To clarify
In FIBA-- a violation if the ball gets wedged
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
It is a violation for the thrower to cause the ball to get wedged...
Wrong. In FIBA, any time the ball gets wedged - including a throw-in - it is an AP situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
it's not a violation for the thrower to cause the ball to hit the backboard or rim.
Correct. If a throw-in hits the rim, play continues; however, the 24-second clock is NOT reset.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NICK View Post
Where? Show me the rule. Have refereed to FIBA rules for over 30 years, I am quite sure of my reply.
I quoted the EXACT portion of the rulebook above. Read much?

Been doing FIBA for over 30 years, eh? When's the last time you read the rulebook or the casebook? Pages 9 and 10 of the FIBA Interpretations Manual cover throw-in plays.

http://www.fiba.com/downloads/Rules/...ations2012.pdf

I bet you're still disallowing substitutions by the defensive team in the frontcourt as well, eh? How about dribblers who are straddling the centre line? Still calling them for over-and-back? I'll bet you get really funny looks when you award "3 to make 2".
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 24, 2013, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 118
In FIBA
- not a violation to hit the "inbound" parts of the backboard or the rim, however 24" doesn't reset at the hit-rim situation in here.
- a violation if the ball gets wedged
__________________
-- Luis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICK View Post
Where? Show me the rule. Have refereed to FIBA rules for over 30 years, I am quite sure of my reply.
Let me see if I can find that anywhere...

17.3.1 The player taking the throw-in shall not:

• Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.

• Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).

• Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throw-in.

• Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.

• Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.

• Move from the designated throw-in place behind the boundary line, other than from his team’s endline after a successful field goal or a successful last free throw, laterally in one (1) or in both directions, exceeding a total distance of one (1) m before releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly back-wards from the boundary line as far as circumstances allow.

Seems like I read this recently...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 20, 2013, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
I don't know that Nick will see your response since you are responding to a post that's more than six months old and I don't think Nick has posted since.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIBA Question Jay R Basketball 5 Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:26am
FIBA EXAM Question SmokeEater Basketball 9 Sat Dec 19, 2009 05:02am
FIBA rules question jallen Basketball 2 Sun Oct 19, 2008 04:01pm
FIBA Question Teigan Basketball 17 Tue Nov 20, 2007 05:01pm
FIBA Question Odd Duck Basketball 23 Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1