The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2013, 02:45pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Fair enough.

Back to the understanding that OOB is not frontcourt, Sean... if you had a throw-in under the basket, and he threw it all the way over the entire frontcourt to land (or be caught) in the backcourt ... would you have a violation? (Assume you're not an NBA ref for the purposes of this conversation).
No, I would not. OOB is neither in the frontcourt, nor the backcourt, and possession can be gained in either court with no violation.

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2013, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanwestref View Post
No, I would not. OOB is neither in the frontcourt, nor the backcourt, and possession can be gained in either court with no violation.

Sean
Exactly - same logic applies to 3 seconds. (I guess I should have asked if you would have ruled this way BEFORE learning today that OOB was not in the frontcourt)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2013, 03:05pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Seems he might be trying to apply the "team control" during a throw in to this situation, when it really only applies to a foul by the offense on a throw in. I think that is what is confusing him.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2013, 03:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Seems he might be trying to apply the "team control" during a throw in to this situation, when it really only applies to a foul by the offense on a throw in. I think that is what is confusing him.
That, and he was incorrectly thinking that you could have FC status during a throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 23, 2013 at 09:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2013, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That, and he was incorrectly thinking that you could have FC status during a throw-in.
... that, and he was incorrectly thinking the 3-second count is not terminated on shot attempts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about new rule - but (probably) not what you think. Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Wed Jun 18, 2008 07:38am
Rule question Terrapins Fan Basketball 8 Fri Feb 22, 2008 03:15pm
Rule Question secondregionbug Basketball 2 Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:04am
rule question csuram Baseball 3 Sat May 27, 2006 10:29pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1