Quote:
Originally Posted by PSidbury
And, yes, I tried to search and find specifically what I am looking for, but to my avail could not.
"During a final free-throw attempt by A1, B2 commits basket interference. The goal will count and Team B will receive the ball out of bounds for a throw-in."
True or False ?
What gets me about this question is that within the '12-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Book: 10-4-9 outlines that a goal tend is a technical foul, but “basket interference” ???
No technical foul?
If so, then "true", the basket counts, and B receives the ball out of bounds for a throw-in.
I just don't see "free throw" and "basket interference" and technical foul" all within the same Rules Book article or reference this or that chapter and verse...
Thanks,
Paul
|
Paul, what would a player have to do to goaltend a FT? He would have to intentionally violate by going into the lane and intentionally bat the ball before it reached the rim. So it's an intentional act and is therefore considered unsporting. That's why it's a technical foul.
Now, A1 shoots a FT and B1 legally enters the lane and makes a legal attempt to get the rebound. Unfortunately, he touches the ball while it's in the cylinder. Not an unsporting act, just something that can happen in a game.
That's why GT is a T and BI is not.
The answer is True.