View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 03:27am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Paul, what would a player have to do to goaltend a FT? He would have to intentionally violate by going into the lane and intentionally bat the ball before it reached the rim. So it's an intentional act and is therefore considered unsporting. That's why it's a technical foul.

Now, A1 shoots a FT and B1 legally enters the lane and makes a legal attempt to get the rebound. Unfortunately, he touches the ball while it's in the cylinder. Not an unsporting act, just something that can happen in a game.

That's why GT is a T and BI is not.

The answer is True.
All of that conjecture is nice, but it cannot be correct as until about 8 years ago both GT and BI during a free throw were technical fouls.
This is a test question for which it helps to be a veteran and recall that there was a rule change about this.
Reply With Quote