View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2012, 02:00am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Paul, what would a player have to do to goaltend a FT? He would have to intentionally violate by going into the lane and intentionally bat the ball before it reached the rim. So it's an intentional act and is therefore considered unsporting. That's why it's a technical foul.

Now, A1 shoots a FT and B1 legally enters the lane and makes a legal attempt to get the rebound. Unfortunately, he touches the ball while it's in the cylinder. Not an unsporting act, just something that can happen in a game.

That's why GT is a T and BI is not.

The answer is True.
It wasn't long ago, under NFHS rules, that BI would have also been a T. Fortunately, they applied the logic which you described to come to a better and more appropriate result.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote