![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I understand the rule now is that once team control is established anywhere on the court, the ball achieves front court status, and is touched last in the FC by the offensive team, and first in the BC by the offensive team, that it is a BCV. Am I learning anything? |
|
|||
|
It must either touch the court or a player in fc to have status.
|
|
|||
|
Still with the hijacked-thread-inbound-pass play--Dribbler's first bounce hits the division line in the OP.
Since a dribbler needs two feet and the ball in frontcourt for frontcourt status, then how is it a backcourt violation? Last edited by Jesse James; Wed Feb 01, 2012 at 02:18pm. |
|
|||
|
The ball was touched by B2 who was in the FC prior to A2 dribbling it, giving it FC status.
|
|
|||
|
Or an official or the backboard/rim.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
||||
|
Quote:
As for the coach's argument. The dribble starts when the ball is batted, pushed, or thrown to the floor. We don't always know if it's a dribble or pass until the player touches it again, but that doesn't change when the dribble started (and thus PC began).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
When would you have allowed A1 or a teammate/coach to request a time-out and honor that request? That is when team-control existed.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
|
I think you mean player control.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
"control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it"
When would you have allowed A1 or a teammate/coach to request a time-out and honor that request? That is when team-control existed. I didn't. But they would occurr at the same instance in the OP and the sitch below. If no team control exists for team A, the first player on team A to establish player control also establishes team control. (Not trying to lecture, but putting my understanding out there to be corrected if needed)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A different backcourt violation question | MJT | Basketball | 5 | Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am |
| Another backcourt violation question | sseltser | Basketball | 16 | Fri Nov 06, 2009 07:01am |
| Another backcourt violation question | edge62 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm |
| Backcourt Violation Question | manhong | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am |
| backcourt violation question | pank | Basketball | 4 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm |