The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
This is an interesting thought. I guess IMO there is a difference between when control begins, and when it can be first ascertained. For example...

A loose ball that A1 dives for, puts two hands on it, and as he’s sliding he calls time out. I'm reluctant to grant the request until he stops sliding, and I can determine that he's maintained control throughout. Just because he has two hands on the ball doesn't mean he has control of it. That said once the time out has been granted where did he gain control, when he first put two hands on it, halfway through, not until the end?
There's nothing magical about sliding and ending the slide. If he has both hands on it and the ball isn't rolling, then he is holding the ball.

Quote:
In my judgment, based on the entire sequence of events leading up to and after initial contact with ball (in reality only a second) the player established control with the first dribble and maintained it the entire time, thus player control began with the first touch.
In your OP, A1 had player control and team A had team control when A1 had the ball in the BC.

The ball gained FC status.

A2 bats the ball and it gains BC status.

If you deemed the bat a dribble, it's a BC violation.

If you judged the first touch was not a dribble (no player control), then it's a BC violation if A2 next touches the ball again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's nothing magical about sliding and ending the slide. If he has both hands on it and the ball isn't rolling, then he is holding the ball.



In your OP, A1 had player control and team A had team control when A1 had the ball in the BC.

The ball gained FC status.

A2 bats the ball and it gains BC status.

If you deemed the bat a dribble, it's a BC violation.

If you judged the first touch was not a dribble (no player control), then it's a BC violation if A2 next touches the ball again.
Hmmmm so you are saying that the only debate is when the BCV occurred... on the first dribble when the ball hit the half court stripe or when the players foot made contact with the BC. I agree... now.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 08:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Hmmmm so you are saying that the only debate is when the BCV occurred... on the first dribble when the ball hit the half court stripe or when the players foot made contact with the BC. I agree... now.
Unless he is holding the ball, when/if his feet hit the backcourt is of no consequence. It's a violation when he touches the ball (first) after it went into the bc.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's nothing magical about sliding and ending the slide. If he has both hands on it and the ball isn't rolling, then he is holding the ball.



In your OP, A1 had player control and team A had team control when A1 had the ball in the BC.

The ball gained FC status.

A2 bats the ball and it gains BC status.

If you deemed the bat a dribble, it's a BC violation.

If you judged the first touch was not a dribble (no player control), then it's a BC violation if A2 next touches the ball again.
BBR, Please see Camron's post, #38. It can't be a bcv when the ball hits the bc, from a bat, or a perceived "start of a dribble", because the bat occurs before the ball touches the backcourt, and a violation occurs for being the first to touch the ball, after the ball gains backcourt status. IOW, the bat that causes the ball to touch the backcourt, is only that. It's the touch, when the ball bounces up, and again, touches the hand of the player, which occurs after the ball gains backcourt status, that constitutes a bcv.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Thu Feb 02, 2012 at 10:50am. Reason: sentence structure
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's nothing magical about sliding and ending the slide. If he has both hands on it and the ball isn't rolling, then he is holding the ball.
No there is nothing magical about sliding, or dribbling either for that matter. My point is I don't think PC can be determined by looking at a still snap shot that encompases only that exact moment in time. PC is determined by a sequence of events that when put together give you a full picture. In the situation I had it was not possible to determin control until after the second and subsequent dribbles occured, however once they did it was easy to say she gained control with the first dribble.

The same is true if she would have caugth the ball with two hands. A player can momentarily secure or stop the momentum of the ball with two hands on either side it. What follows will determin if the player has control. The player can either continue to demonstrate control over the ball by raising it above thier heads and holding it away from the defense, or the player can have the ball immediately squirt out of their hands.

In the former you have PC, in the latter you dont, but both would look identical if you froze action when they first placed two hands on the opposit sides of the ball. It's the action prior to, and after the instant of that first touch that determins PC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
BBR, Please see Camron's post, #38. It can't be a bcv when the ball hits the bc, from a bat, or a perceived "start of a dribble", because the bat occurs before the ball touches the backcourt, and a violation occurs for being the first to touch the ball, after the ball gains backcourt status. IOW, the bat that causes the ball to touch the backcourt, is only that. It's the touch, when the ball bounces up, and again, touches the hand of the player, which occurs after the ball gains backcourt status, that constitutes a bcv.
Sorry but I don't agree with that interpretation. Player control exists so when a player in his FC steps on the line, it's a violation whether he's touching the ball or not. If he dribbles the ball on the line, it's no different. I have a BC violation.

You're welcome to another interpretation if you like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
No there is nothing magical about sliding, or dribbling either for that matter. My point is I don't think PC can be determined by looking at a still snap shot that encompases only that exact moment in time. PC is determined by a sequence of events that when put together give you a full picture. In the situation I had it was not possible to determin control until after the second and subsequent dribbles occured, however once they did it was easy to say she gained control with the first dribble.

The same is true if she would have caugth the ball with two hands. A player can momentarily secure or stop the momentum of the ball with two hands on either side it. What follows will determin if the player has control. The player can either continue to demonstrate control over the ball by raising it above thier heads and holding it away from the defense, or the player can have the ball immediately squirt out of their hands.

In the former you have PC, in the latter you dont, but both would look identical if you froze action when they first placed two hands on the opposit sides of the ball. It's the action prior to, and after the instant of that first touch that determins PC.
I disagree.

Based on your description, one dribble would never be a dribble.

Further, just because a player controls the ball and then loses control doesn't mean they never controlled it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Feb 02, 2012 at 07:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Sorry but I don't agree with that interpretation. Player control exists so when a player in his FC steps on the line, it's a violation whether he's touching the ball or not. If he dribbles the ball on the line, it's no different. I have a BC violation.
Perhaps the same concept is intended to apply at the division line. However, the only rule close to that is one regarding OOB. It doesn't mention the division line or imply that it should be used elsewhere.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 10:58pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Sorry but I don't agree with that interpretation. Player control exists so when a player in his FC steps on the line, it's a violation whether he's touching the ball or not. If he dribbles the ball on the line, it's no different. I have a BC violation.

You're welcome to another interpretation if you like.

So if A1 is in the front court and throws the ball into the backcourt you would call a BC violation as soon as it hits the backcourt? If the ball hits the line but the player never touches it again it can't be a BC violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
So if A1 is in the front court and throws the ball into the backcourt you would call a BC violation as soon as it hits the backcourt? If the ball hits the line but the player never touches it again it can't be a BC violation.
Do you truly believe a player that passes the ball into the BC has player control?

If so, you really need to re-read Rule 4, Definitions.

A dribble is not a pass. That's in Rule 4, too.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 01:20am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Do you truly believe a player that passes the ball into the BC has player control?

If so, you really need to re-read Rule 4, Definitions.

A dribble is not a pass. That's in Rule 4, too.
First, you don't have to have PC to have a BC violation. Team control is sufficient.

Second, muff it, lose control, fumble, pass, or just stop dribbling while running toward backcourt and then letting the ball continue into the backcourt with out touching it are all the same thing.

I am just saying someone on the offense would have to touch it after it touches the mid court line or in the backcourt before a BC violation should be called.

You should probably consider all of them a loose ball per the definition in Rule 4.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 08:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
So if A1 is in the front court and throws the ball into the backcourt you would call a BC violation as soon as it hits the backcourt? If the ball hits the line but the player never touches it again it can't be a BC violation.
He didn't say "throw", he said "bat" as part of a dribble.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 11:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
He didn't say "throw", he said "bat" as part of a dribble.
This is the same as the old illegal dribble question.

A1 has ended his dribble, and then pushes the ball to the floor again. Is it a violation as soon as he pushes it down, or when it hits his hand?

Or the OOB call:
A1 dribbling along the sideline. After he pushes a dribble down, he steps on the line. Is it a violation as soon as he steps on the line, or when he touches the ball again thus estalishing the continuation of his dribble?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Fri Feb 03, 2012 at 02:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Or the OOB call:
A1 dribbling along the sideline. After he pushes a dribble down, he steps on the line. Is it a violation as soon as he steps on the line, or when he touches the ball again thus estalishing the continuation of his dribble?
On that one, we have a specific "Note" in the rule book that says it is OOB when a dribbler steps OOB whether they're touching the ball or not. We don't have a similar rule regarding the division line. Does the concept apply? By letter of the rule, no. By spirit, probably.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post



I disagree.

Based on your description, one dribble would never be a dribble.

Further, just because a player controls the ball and then loses control doesn't mean they never controlled it.
Not true. I have on many occasions called a player for a double dribble after they have gained control of a lose ball using a dribble, caught it with two hands, and attempted to dribble again. It's all about judgement, and I feel in some cases a play needs to develop before you can ascertain player control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A different backcourt violation question MJT Basketball 5 Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am
Another backcourt violation question sseltser Basketball 16 Fri Nov 06, 2009 07:01am
Another backcourt violation question edge62 Basketball 10 Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm
Backcourt Violation Question manhong Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am
backcourt violation question pank Basketball 4 Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1