The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not sure, but I think you're confusing player control and team control.
PC is required to establish TC; but not to maintain it. While A1's pass to A2 is in the air, TC continues.

TC must be in place.
The ball must gain FC status (it did this in your play when B2 touched it).
The team in control must be the last to touch it before it goes to the BC (A2's bat).
The team in control must be the first to touch it after it goes to the BC (A2's touch after the bat).
This is correct, perfect, and thanks.

It's nice to know I got the call right, but unfortunate that I didn't get it right for 100% the right reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
This is correct, perfect, and thanks.

It's nice to know I got the call right, but unfortunate that I didn't get it right for 100% the right reasons.
Another point to consider is that the 3 points rule for dribblers only applies to a dribbler going from BC to FC; not the other way around. So if you deemed A2's actions to be a dribble, he did establish PC in the FC just prior to the ball bouncing in the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Another point to consider is that the 3 points rule for dribblers only applies to a dribbler going from BC to FC; not the other way around. So if you deemed A2's actions to be a dribble, he did establish PC in the FC just prior to the ball bouncing in the BC.
Correct, which was my thinking on why it was a BCV, although it looks like now I was over thinking it. The coaches argument stemmed from judgment on what constitues control. I judged the player to have control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it. The HC argued that control couldn't exist until after that second dribble at which time the ball had BC status.

As I understand the rule now is that once team control is established anywhere on the court, the ball achieves front court status, and is touched last in the FC by the offensive team, and first in the BC by the offensive team, that it is a BCV.

Am I learning anything?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
So for a ball to have front-court status, it simply needs to touch a player in the front court, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
So for a ball to have front-court status, it simply needs to touch a player in the front court, right?
Or the floor. 4-4-1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
So for a ball to have front-court status, it simply needs to touch a player in the front court, right?
It must either touch the court or a player in fc to have status.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
Still with the hijacked-thread-inbound-pass play--Dribbler's first bounce hits the division line in the OP.

Since a dribbler needs two feet and the ball in frontcourt for frontcourt status, then how is it a backcourt violation?

Last edited by Jesse James; Wed Feb 01, 2012 at 02:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
Dribbler's first bounce hits the division line in the OP.

If a dribbler needs two feet and the ball in frontcourt for frontcourt status, then how is it a backcourt violation?
The ball was touched by B2 who was in the FC prior to A2 dribbling it, giving it FC status.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 02:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
Still with the hijacked-thread-inbound-pass play--Dribbler's first bounce hits the division line in the OP.

If a dribbler needs two feet and the ball in frontcourt for frontcourt status, then how is it a backcourt violation?
Three points only applies to a dribbler going from BC to FC, not the other direction.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
It must either touch the court or a player in fc to have status.
Or an official or the backboard/rim.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Or an official or the backboard/rim.
Which are already considered part of the floor :P
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
So for a ball to have front-court status, it simply needs to touch a player in the front court, right?
Read 4-Ball Location to get your answer.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 01:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Correct, which was my thinking on why it was a BCV, although it looks like now I was over thinking it. The coaches argument stemmed from judgment on what constitues control. I judged the player to have control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it. The HC argued that control couldn't exist until after that second dribble at which time the ball had BC status.

As I understand the rule now is that once team control is established anywhere on the court, the ball achieves front court status, and is touched last in the FC by the offensive team, and first in the BC by the offensive team, that it is a BCV.

Am I learning anything?
Yes, I would only add that due to the changes in TC on a throw in, PC needs to be established inbounds prior to or concurrent with the FC location of the ball.

As for the coach's argument. The dribble starts when the ball is batted, pushed, or thrown to the floor. We don't always know if it's a dribble or pass until the player touches it again, but that doesn't change when the dribble started (and thus PC began).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Correct, which was my thinking on why it was a BCV, although it looks like now I was over thinking it. The coaches argument stemmed from judgment on what constitues control. I judged the player to have control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it. The HC argued that control couldn't exist until after that second dribble at which time the ball had BC status.

As I understand the rule now is that once team control is established anywhere on the court, the ball achieves front court status, and is touched last in the FC by the offensive team, and first in the BC by the offensive team, that it is a BCV.

Am I learning anything?
"control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it"

When would you have allowed A1 or a teammate/coach to request a time-out and honor that request? That is when team-control existed.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 01, 2012, 04:40pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
"control immediately based on the nature of the initial contact and the actions proceeding it"

When would you have allowed A1 or a teammate/coach to request a time-out and honor that request? That is when team-control existed.
I think you mean player control.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A different backcourt violation question MJT Basketball 5 Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am
Another backcourt violation question sseltser Basketball 16 Fri Nov 06, 2009 07:01am
Another backcourt violation question edge62 Basketball 10 Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm
Backcourt Violation Question manhong Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am
backcourt violation question pank Basketball 4 Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1