![]() |
|
|
|
||||
|
Think of this play:
A1 in the BC, passes towards A2 in the FC. A3 was cutting in between (in the FC) and it strikes his leg and bounces back to A1 (in the BC). The play is, for all relevant purposes, identical to yours.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's nice to know I got the call right, but unfortunate that I didn't get it right for 100% the right reasons. |
|
||||
|
Another point to consider is that the 3 points rule for dribblers only applies to a dribbler going from BC to FC; not the other way around. So if you deemed A2's actions to be a dribble, he did establish PC in the FC just prior to the ball bouncing in the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I understand the rule now is that once team control is established anywhere on the court, the ball achieves front court status, and is touched last in the FC by the offensive team, and first in the BC by the offensive team, that it is a BCV. Am I learning anything? |
|
|||
|
It must either touch the court or a player in fc to have status.
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
As for the coach's argument. The dribble starts when the ball is batted, pushed, or thrown to the floor. We don't always know if it's a dribble or pass until the player touches it again, but that doesn't change when the dribble started (and thus PC began).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
When would you have allowed A1 or a teammate/coach to request a time-out and honor that request? That is when team-control existed.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
|
I think you mean player control.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A loose ball that A1 dives for, puts two hands on it, and as he’s sliding he calls time out. I'm reluctant to grant the request until he stops sliding, and I can determine that he's maintained control throughout. Just because he has two hands on the ball doesn't mean he has control of it. That said once the time out has been granted where did he gain control, when he first put two hands on it, halfway through, not until the end? In my judgment, based on the entire sequence of events leading up to and after initial contact with ball (in reality only a second) the player established control with the first dribble and maintained it the entire time, thus player control began with the first touch. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A different backcourt violation question | MJT | Basketball | 5 | Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am |
| Another backcourt violation question | sseltser | Basketball | 16 | Fri Nov 06, 2009 07:01am |
| Another backcourt violation question | edge62 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm |
| Backcourt Violation Question | manhong | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am |
| backcourt violation question | pank | Basketball | 4 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm |