![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.
But what if this scenario happens: B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net. So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Correct...because the ONLY way B can touch the ball is if the try had ended. If they were to touch it before the try were over, it would have been GT or BI (I'm reading the question to say the ball was on its way down).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The official must judge if it's still a try (and if the official is having trouble with the OP and this latest play, it's likely s/he'll have trouble with "when a try ends.") |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Wrong basket | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 34 | Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:48am |
| Wrong Basket... | MatthewPV | Basketball | 7 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:22pm |
| Wrong basket | Ch1town | Basketball | 20 | Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:26am |
| Wrong Basket | Dudly | Basketball | 6 | Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:28am |
| wrong basket | CK | Basketball | 16 | Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:52pm |