![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Pass from behind the arc bounces off B's shoulder and goes in: 3 points, even though it was not a try.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Missing Question Mark ???
Is this a question, or a factual statement?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
If you ask me, it's not a factual statement.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Remember, they removed the need to decide try/pass so no matter what you thought it was, it comes out the same. That means 4.41.4 SIT B applies whether it was a throw or a try. The case that you're relying on to rule it a 3 just don't apply to a thrown ball that might have been a try that has fallen short and is not going in. It is ONLY meant to apply a ball that, as thrown, might have been a shot and goes in...and that a tip by a defender at the point of release doesn't change that. If the defender touches it much closer to the basket, we'd have goaltending....but that can't happen once the shot falls below the rim. So the try (or virtual try) is over. It is just a lose ball that goes in. Don't take that case so literally and apply it to situations it was never intended to be used for.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Dec 04, 2011 at 02:31am. |
|
|||
So, would 2 points be awarded in this scenario:
A1 shoots the ball from behind the 3 point line. Ball has been released by the shooter and time expires as the ball is in the air. Shot falls short of the basket, bounces off of B1 (head, shoulder, arms - doesn't matter) and goes through the basket. 2 points awarded because the try for goal ended once the ball was below the rim? It is still a live ball, correct? Same scenario, but instead of hitting B1, it bounces off the floor and into the basket. No points since time expired, correct? |
|
|||
No that it wouldn't count in your first situation because time expired and the ball became dead as soon as it was apparent the try will not be successful. The ball bouncing off of B1 is immaterial. If the ball had hit off B1 and entered the basket before time expired, then it would count as two points.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Horn goes off on an inbound pass under basket | mitchstripes | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 20, 2010 02:50pm |
Player Pass to Self | MelbRef | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:25am |
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket | rgncjn | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm |
Question on hitting player already OB | chuck chopper | Football | 18 | Sat Jan 17, 2004 05:19pm |
Pass deflected into basket. | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 15 | Tue Nov 11, 2003 01:20pm |