| 
			
			 
			
				Sat Dec 03, 2011, 02:20pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Fav theme: Roundball Rock |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2000 Location: Near Dog River (sorta) 
						Posts: 8,558
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Camron Rust  Disagree. The implied condition for the ruling you're using to make this conclusion is that the thrown ball is inbounds already...not a throw in.
 In no possible way could a throwin be a 3-point try so B1 touching it only makes it legal for it to enter the basket...it doesn't make it a 3.
 
 In part (a), I suppose you might get a 3 out of that but not because it was a thrown ball....it was a throwin. It couldn't have been 3 to start with. Only if you judge that A1 was tapping the ball for a 3 would it be 3, not just tipped/touched.
 
 This rule, for a ball thrown from outside the 3-point arc that enters the basket was only intended to remove the necessary judgment of whether it was a try or not when there was a question of whether it was a try or not. A throwin was never in doubt. For that matter, the position of the throwin is neither inside of nor outside of the 3-point arc....It is OOB.
 |  So I should have listened to myself the first time!
		 
				__________________Pope Francis
 |