![]() |
|
|||
|
Disagree. The implied condition for the ruling you're using to make this conclusion is that the thrown ball is inbounds already...not a throw in.
In no possible way could a throwin be a 3-point try so B1 touching it only makes it legal for it to enter the basket...it doesn't make it a 3. In part (a), I suppose you might get a 3 out of that but not because it was a thrown ball....it was a throwin. It couldn't have been 3 to start with. Only if you judge that A1 was tapping the ball for a 3 would it be 3, not just tipped/touched. This rule, for a ball thrown from outside the 3-point arc that enters the basket was only intended to remove the necessary judgment of whether it was a try or not when there was a question of whether it was a try or not. A throwin was never in doubt. For that matter, the position of the throwin is neither inside of nor outside of the 3-point arc....It is OOB.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Dec 02, 2011 at 01:35pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Horn goes off on an inbound pass under basket | mitchstripes | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 20, 2010 02:50pm |
| Player Pass to Self | MelbRef | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:25am |
| Inbound Pass Goes in Basket | rgncjn | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm |
| Question on hitting player already OB | chuck chopper | Football | 18 | Sat Jan 17, 2004 05:19pm |
| Pass deflected into basket. | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 15 | Tue Nov 11, 2003 01:20pm |