Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by mbyron  The heading is editorial and irrelevant, as Situation B makes clear (it concerns a thrown ball that is NOT a try). The governing rule is 5-2-1, which states:"A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who
 is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points."
 
 Moreover, the wording of Situation C is distinctive: "A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line."
 
 That's different from Situation A ("A1 attempts a three-point goal.") and is more like Situation B Ruling ("A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the
 three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an
 actual try for goal.").
 
 It's clear that Situations B and C concern thrown balls that are NOT tries, and my original puzzle remains.
 | 
	
 Disagree.  I think Camron has it right.  The actual definition of a try specifically describes shooting as "throwing" which is obviously a poor choice of a word.  Even though a pass or try that is "thrown" from behind the arc and goes in counts as 3, officials still have to make judgements regarding was it a pass or a try.  For example, if A1 is obviously throwing a long lob pass toward A5 near the basket but is fouled as he releases the throw, are we giving him 3 shots?