Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
I never said anything about OOB. Where did that come from? The issue concerns shot vs throw (e.g. a pass).
|
The original post was about a throwin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Pass from behind the arc bounces off B's shoulder and goes in: 3 points, even though it was not a try.
|
No, it is not. See 4.41.4 SITUATION B. Once it no longer has the chance to enter the basket in flight it can only be a 2.
Remember, they removed the need to decide try/pass so no matter what you thought it was, it comes out the same. That means 4.41.4 SIT B applies whether it was a throw or a try.
The case that you're relying on to rule it a 3 just don't apply to a thrown ball that might have been a try that has fallen short and is not going in. It is ONLY meant to apply a ball that, as thrown, might have been a shot and goes in...and that a tip by a defender at the point of release doesn't change that.
If the defender touches it much closer to the basket, we'd have goaltending....but that can't happen once the shot falls below the rim. So the try (or virtual try) is over. It is just a lose ball that goes in.
Don't take that case so literally and apply it to situations it was never intended to be used for.