![]() |
|
|
|||
3 points? Don't shoot!
Apparently if you attempt a 3-point try, miss, and it bounces into the basket off B's head, you get 2 points. 4.41.4C
If you throw a pass to a teammate from behind the arc, miss, and it bounces into the basket off B's head, you get 3 points. 5.2.1C(b) Weird.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Why is this weird. One you are clearly throwing at the basket and it happens to go in the basket. The other it is clear you were not even trying to score and the ball happens to go in the basket. The rule is in place because players would try and Ally-Opp on some level and the ball would go in the basket inadvertently. They wanted to take this out of the hands of the officials to determine the intent of the passer/shooter.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
He meant 4.41.4B...as I cited just before his post.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Note that it is under a section titled "THREE-POINT TRY" It is making the point that if A or B tips the shot (just out of the shooters hand), it will still be 3 whether B is in the 3-point area or in the 2-point area (usually feet on the line) but if it touches A in the 2-point area, it becomes a 2. It never was intended for the situation you pose...where the try or virtual try is ALWAYS over when the ball passes below the level of the ring or ever passes above the ring. Only 4.41.4C is relevant at that point....a ball that bounces off a player's head/shoulder is a 2 and it is not a try.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
2
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
"A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points." Moreover, the wording of Situation C is distinctive: "A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line." That's different from Situation A ("A1 attempts a three-point goal.") and is more like Situation B Ruling ("A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal."). It's clear that Situations B and C concern thrown balls that are NOT tries, and my original puzzle remains.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Plus, is OOB really behind the 3-point arc? I say no...the 3-point area is ONLY inbounds. Name any other time a player can score 3-points while throwin the ball from OOB?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I agree -- I didn't know that was (still) an issue. Balls from OOB that are deflected (not intentionally tapped with <= .3 seconds) into the basket are always 2 points.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Pass from behind the arc bounces off B's shoulder and goes in: 3 points, even though it was not a try.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Missing Question Mark ???
Is this a question, or a factual statement?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
If you ask me, it's not a factual statement.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Remember, they removed the need to decide try/pass so no matter what you thought it was, it comes out the same. That means 4.41.4 SIT B applies whether it was a throw or a try. The case that you're relying on to rule it a 3 just don't apply to a thrown ball that might have been a try that has fallen short and is not going in. It is ONLY meant to apply a ball that, as thrown, might have been a shot and goes in...and that a tip by a defender at the point of release doesn't change that. If the defender touches it much closer to the basket, we'd have goaltending....but that can't happen once the shot falls below the rim. So the try (or virtual try) is over. It is just a lose ball that goes in. Don't take that case so literally and apply it to situations it was never intended to be used for.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Dec 04, 2011 at 02:31am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Horn goes off on an inbound pass under basket | mitchstripes | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 20, 2010 02:50pm |
Player Pass to Self | MelbRef | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:25am |
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket | rgncjn | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm |
Question on hitting player already OB | chuck chopper | Football | 18 | Sat Jan 17, 2004 05:19pm |
Pass deflected into basket. | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 15 | Tue Nov 11, 2003 01:20pm |