![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I wish the NFHS (and NCAA for that matter) would include the deletions in the rules book -- with a strikeout -- to make it more clear what has changed. |
|
|||
Yes, but the wording of the backcourt rule as changed to reflect the team control foul on a throwin situation, it implies that their must be player control in the backcourt to have a violation when all that is required is that there be team control inbounds...which starts when a player has control (inbounds) but continues even when no player has control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met. I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
So, I should tell the ref, that although there is now Team Control on a throw-in, there was no Player Control in the frontcourt, which is now required for a backcourt violation. And, that is a new rule, too, and is located under the section on backcourt violations???
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
What the new wording did do was make it legal for A1 in the BC to throw a pass that is tipped by A2 in the FC and then retrieved by A1 in the BC. This should have, however, should have been rectified in 9-9-2 but wording of that article is pretty bad. This apparently is when you need to break out the PowerPoint slide.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 05, 2011 at 04:33pm. |
|
|||
NFHS Basketball Interpretations (2011-2012)
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
College foul up
Quote:
Also, should Coach Bill notify the assignor through maybe his AD, rather than go straight to the individual ref he had the sitch with? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Got me thinking | UmpTTS43 | Baseball | 32 | Thu Aug 14, 2008 02:58pm |
What was I thinking???? | Andy | Softball | 11 | Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:34am |
What were they thinking?? | NCASAUmp | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:34pm |
Thinking... | brandan89 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:15am |
Thinking this through | Dudly | Basketball | 4 | Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:52pm |