The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got me thinking UmpTTS43 Baseball 32 Thu Aug 14, 2008 02:58pm
What was I thinking???? Andy Softball 11 Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:34am
What were they thinking?? NCASAUmp Softball 2 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:34pm
Thinking... brandan89 Baseball 2 Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:15am
Thinking this through Dudly Basketball 4 Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1