The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Legal.



Traveling



Case book 4.44.3 D
Well, yes. The case book clearly explains it, but not the rules book.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 02:24pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty View Post
...
What rule would A1 violate if A1 tosses the ball up and then runs to catch it before the ball touches the floor? I know this case is illegal, but I do not know where in the rules book says that it's illegal. Some people say that it's traveling. Others say that it's an illegal dribble.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty View Post
Well, yes. The case book clearly explains it, but not the rules book.
It violated rule 4-44-3a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

However if A1 never established a pivot foot the rule doesn't cover that as a traveling violation. So it would have to be an illegal dribble. However I can't find in the rule book or case book anything that refers to it as an illegal dribble.

And the case play cited refers you to rule 9-4 which in turn refers you to rule 4-44.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Sep 15, 2011 at 02:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It violated rule 4-44-3a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
I get it now. I was totally disregarding the fact that the pivot foot may not be return back to the floor if the pass hasn't touch another player. The problem was that I thought traveling can only occur when a player is holding the ball.

Quote:
However if A1 never established a pivot foot the rule doesn't cover that as a traveling violation. So it would have to be an illegal dribble. However I can't find in the rule book or case book anything that refers to it as an illegal dribble.
4.44.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling.

Last edited by MiamiWadeCounty; Thu Sep 15, 2011 at 03:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty View Post
I get it now. I was totally disregarding the fact that the pivot foot may not be return back to the floor if the pass hasn't touch another player. The problem was that I thought traveling can only occur when a player is holding the ball.
I have no idea what that means. Your pivot foot has nothing to do with when or whther another player touches the ball.

You are correct that a player cannot travel unless he is holding the ball, with one exception.



Quote:
4.44.3 SITUATION B:
Quote:
A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling.
The case play has nothing to do with the play you originally posted.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
I have no idea what that means.
Yea I know. I posted that on impulse.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It violated rule 4-44-3a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
That rule simply does not apply to the original post.

This rule covers a player who jumps and returns to the floor before he releases the ball.

The original play had the player throwing the ball, running and touching the ball before it hit the floor. That's a completely different scenario.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 10:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
That rule simply does not apply to the original post.

This rule covers a player who jumps and returns to the floor before he releases the ball.

The original play had the player throwing the ball, running and touching the ball before it hit the floor. That's a completely different scenario.
I know what the OP asked. In the literal sense it means A1 lifted his pivot and returned it to the floor before passing or shooting the ball, which is exactly what 4-44-3a says. 4-44-3b is what addresses a player who jumps. Everyone is telling Wade it's an illegal dribble but no one has posted a rule showing it to be an illegal dribble. 4-44-1 most definitely doesn't tell anybody it's an illegal dribble nor does any part of 9-5.

Struckoff (sp??) may be an idiot but complaining about her doesn't help as far as citing a current rule or case play for this scenario.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Sep 16, 2011 at 10:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I know what the OP asked. In the literal sense it means A1 lifted his pivot and returned it to the floor before passing or shooting the ball, which is exactly what 4-44-3a says. 4-44-3b is what addresses a player who jumps. Everyone is telling Wade it's an illegal dribble but no one has posted a rule showing it to be an illegal dribble. 4-44-1 most definitely doesn't tell anybody it's an illegal dribble nor does any part of 9-5.

Struckoff (sp??) may be an idiot but complaining about her doesn't help as far as citing a current rule or case play for this scenario.
#1, Who said Struckoff was an idiot?

#2, as for the rules, 4-15-1 & 2 are the pertinent rules as it describes the action. Since the release of the ball is not a pass, shot or fumble, that leaves a dribble. When the player releases it and touches it again before it touches the floor, it's an illegal dribble.

#3, finally, the last rule to apply is 4-44.
Traveling (running with the ball) is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while HOLDING the ball.

You cannot travel without HOLDING the ball except as in 4.44.5B which is an identified circumvent of the rules.

In 4-44-3a, the player lifts AND returns the pivot to the floor while still HOLDING the ball.

In 4-44-3b, the player jumps AND returns to the floor while still HOLDING the ball.

You cannot travel without HOLDING the ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Sep 17, 2011 at 10:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Just call it, and let the signal be secondary to the call on this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2011, 12:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
#2, as for the rules, 4-15-1 & 2 are the pertinent rules as it describes the action. Since the release of the ball is not a pass, shot or fumble, that leaves a dribble. When the player releases it and touches it again before it touches the floor, it's an illegal dribble.
It that were strictly true, the case of a player tossing the ball in the air while not moving the feet would also be an illegal dribble. However, that play only becomes a violation of the player moves their feet between throwing and catching the ball.

I think this case really falls between the two rules (travel and illegal dribble) and is judged to be an unintended action and is arbitrarily lumped with one of the two rules by declaration since neither really cover it exactly.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2011, 03:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
It's in between the two

I tend to agree with Camron, that the situation is in between the two rules -- traveling and double dribble. 4-15-1 defines a dribble as "... bats (batting) or pushes (pushing) the ball "to the floor" and in the case of a player catching the ball before it hits the floor, the basic definition of a dribble has not been met.
Also, 4-15-3 defines the manner in which a dribble is started, and uses the same qualifier "to the floor", which indicates that if the ball does not strike the floor, a dribble has not been started. Thus, to toss the ball, and catch it before it hits the floor, cannot be a dribble, nor could it be a double dribble, to do so, after the player had already ended a legal dribble.
Then, we have the definition of traveling with an integral part of the travleing definition refering to a player "holding the ball." So, a player tossing the ball into the air, after having established a pivot foot, and then moving that pivot foot before catching the ball, must not be a travleing violation, by the strict reading of 4-44.
We know that we would call the violation. But whether we clasify it as an illegal dribble, or a travel becomes a case of semantics.
(Isn't it ineresting how off-season discussions lend themselves to such thoughts and discussions?)
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
passing to yourself Hardwood Basketball 11 Thu Nov 08, 2007 08:02pm
Ball drops after passing hip. Rattlehead Softball 5 Wed Aug 17, 2005 08:26am
Passing ball in-bounds lukealex Basketball 15 Tue May 31, 2005 05:13am
Dead ball passing runners, runs scoring mikebran Baseball 23 Sun Feb 27, 2005 09:24am
Passing Peruvian Baseball 8 Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1