The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 28, 2011, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 133
In soccer, at least in Wisconsin me personally if a player happens to creep further up or runs more than 5 yards I will blow my whistle to back him up or re-throw.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 12:22pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation Wait a minute

My interp of the video was that the inbound play was following a made basket. If not, why was the announcer making a point about the timeout taking away the right to run the endline which, of course, is wrong. If that was the case, then the official blew the call and screwed over that team!
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 12:27pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
My interp of the video was that the inbound play was following a made basket. If not, why was the announcer making a point about the timeout taking away the right to run the endline which, of course, is wrong. If that was the case, then the official blew the call and screwed over that team!
They had a FC throw-in. Spot.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 01:03pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
They had a FC throw-in. Spot.
You are correct. You can see they are inbounding near their own bench so they must be in their frontcourt. They must have been granted the timeout not immediately after the basket, but after they inbounded and moved the ball into their frontcourt. Of course, not only did the announcer quote a rule incorrectly, but the rule he was quoting was irrelevant anyway. So what's new?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 03:54pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Gotta Do It

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
You are correct. You can see they are inbounding near their own bench so they must be in their frontcourt. They must have been granted the timeout not immediately after the basket, but after they inbounded and moved the ball into their frontcourt. Of course, not only did the announcer quote a rule incorrectly, but the rule he was quoting was irrelevant anyway. So what's new?
Accurate call that had to be made, both in spite of and regardless the circumstances. No brainer.
Two weeks ago in an intense girls' v matchup a girl for the visitors' team, to avoid a defender, chose to run out of bounds to try to break free for the AP throwin to begin the third quarter. I banged it. They lost the throwin and also the arrow. Ended up losing by one. A good friend and veteran official who also happened to have been a twenty-plus year retired head coach for that same team asked me about it this week, commenting, "Well, I guess if that was your interpretation..." Interpretation?????? It happened, and, by rule, the proper call was made accordingly.
The official in the situation above noted a vioilation that happened, and made the proper call accordingly. Good job, in spite of and regardless the unfortunate outcome for the violating team.
It wasn't his fault it happened to have such a major impact at the end of the game. I bet he'd have called it the same had it occurred in the first quarter of the game.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 12:32pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
My interp of the video was that the inbound play was following a made basket. If not, why was the announcer making a point about the timeout taking away the right to run the endline which, of course, is wrong. If that was the case, then the official blew the call and screwed over that team!

Mark, re-watch he video with the sound down. You'll figure it out a lot better without the announcer.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot Throw In Violation - PSU v GM NIT CallMeMrRef Basketball 27 Sat Mar 21, 2009 02:19pm
OOB Spot Throw In Violation??? bigdog5142 Basketball 9 Wed Jan 09, 2008 05:24pm
Throw-in Violation: Where's the Spot normrefct Basketball 2 Thu Dec 29, 2005 05:04pm
Playoff Question - Calling a minor lane violation on the first free throw bradfordwilkins Basketball 3 Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:23pm
Throw in spot on Backcourt violation Art N Basketball 2 Sat Feb 12, 2000 01:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1