View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2011, 03:54pm
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Gotta Do It

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
You are correct. You can see they are inbounding near their own bench so they must be in their frontcourt. They must have been granted the timeout not immediately after the basket, but after they inbounded and moved the ball into their frontcourt. Of course, not only did the announcer quote a rule incorrectly, but the rule he was quoting was irrelevant anyway. So what's new?
Accurate call that had to be made, both in spite of and regardless the circumstances. No brainer.
Two weeks ago in an intense girls' v matchup a girl for the visitors' team, to avoid a defender, chose to run out of bounds to try to break free for the AP throwin to begin the third quarter. I banged it. They lost the throwin and also the arrow. Ended up losing by one. A good friend and veteran official who also happened to have been a twenty-plus year retired head coach for that same team asked me about it this week, commenting, "Well, I guess if that was your interpretation..." Interpretation?????? It happened, and, by rule, the proper call was made accordingly.
The official in the situation above noted a vioilation that happened, and made the proper call accordingly. Good job, in spite of and regardless the unfortunate outcome for the violating team.
It wasn't his fault it happened to have such a major impact at the end of the game. I bet he'd have called it the same had it occurred in the first quarter of the game.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote