The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews View Post
this is no longer correctable. A inbounds the ball and turns it over, live ball, B is fouled and the ball becomes dead. (dead ball number 1). B3 is given the ball for a free throw (live ball) free throw 1 is over (dead ball #2). It has to be discovered no later than the first dead ball after the clock has started. After the free throw is the 2nd dead ball, so no longer correctable
You're correct....bad example play...here is a better one to demonstrate the point...

Example: A1 is fouled by B1 with 8 team fouls but is awarded a throw in. Before the throwin ends, B3 is fouled with 10 team fouls on A. B3 takes 1 FT. The table informs the officials of the error. Stop. Put A1 on the line for 1+1 with no one on the lane, then come back and finish B3's 2nd FT with players on the lane.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 03, 2011 at 12:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 12:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You're correct....bad example play...here is a better one to demonstrate the point...

Example: A1 is fouled by B1 with 8 team fouls but is awarded a throw in. Before the throwin ends, B3 is fouled with 10 team fouls on A. B3 takes 1 FT. The table informs the officials of the error. Stop. Put A1 on the line for 1+1 with no one on the lane, then come back and finish B3's 2nd FT with players on the lane.
Right, and if the officials mistakenly correct this by letting B3 finish his 2nd before lining everyone up and shooting A1's shots, it's not a C.E.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Right, and if the officials mistakenly correct this by letting B3 finish his 2nd before lining everyone up and shooting A1's shots, it's not a C.E.
Why isn't it? It is still within the proper timeframe? They've just made a correctable error twice on the same penalty (letting B3 shot once, then twice, both without giving A1 the shots due).

Or are you saying the order itself isn't a correctable error? That would be true, but the correctable error is the FTs that are due to A1 but not yet taken (not the order). They're correctable until they're shot or until the time limits expire....shooting them after B3 shoots is the correction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 03, 2011 at 01:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Why isn't it? It is still within the proper timeframe? They've just made a correctable error twice on the same penalty (letting B3 shot once, then twice, both without giving A1 the shots due).

Or are you saying the order itself isn't a correctable error? That would be true, but the correctable error is the FTs that are due to A1 but not yet taken (not the order). They're correctable until they're shot or until the time limits expire....shooting them after B3 shoots is the correction.
I agree with Cameron on this one. Since the clock never starts it doesn't matter how many free throws are shot before the correction does it??
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Or are you saying the order itself isn't a correctable error? That would be true, but the correctable error is the FTs that are due to A1 but not yet taken (not the order). They're correctable until they're shot or until the time limits expire....shooting them after B3 shoots is the correction.
The error is failure to award merited free throws. That error occurs when the officials proceed to other action.

If I discovered the error in between two free throws for a T, I'd do just what the OP did, and for the same reason. Since their rectification of the error took place within the prescribed time frame, I don't think it violated the rule.

In most cases rectifying the error should take place immediately, but the rule doesn't actually require that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2011, 03:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Why isn't it? It is still within the proper timeframe? They've just made a correctable error twice on the same penalty (letting B3 shot once, then twice, both without giving A1 the shots due).

Or are you saying the order itself isn't a correctable error? That would be true, but the correctable error is the FTs that are due to A1 but not yet taken (not the order). They're correctable until they're shot or until the time limits expire....shooting them after B3 shoots is the correction.
I meant that if they correct in the wrong order, that correction isn't correctable.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speaking of correctable/non-correctable errors Rich Basketball 4 Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:53pm
Correctable force39 Basketball 5 Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:34am
correctable footlocker Basketball 4 Mon Feb 09, 2004 04:37pm
Correctable or not? Hawks Coach Basketball 7 Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:33am
correctable or not rgaudreau Basketball 9 Thu Mar 07, 2002 01:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1