The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 09:54am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,632
Speaking of correctable/non-correctable errors

Was watching the JV game before my varsity girls game last night.

We have a shooting foul, player shoots a free throw. Then the table gives the official a horn and sheepishly admits they missed the fact that this was the fifth foul on the person fouling.

So big deal, right? Get her out, get a sub in, off we go, right?

Well, the visiting coach and the R spend a good 3 minutes discussing this, with the visiting coach getting heated over it. Seems he wanted the FT not to count and he wanted to make the player shoot over again. They didn't and I was ready to congratulate the JV guy for getting it right except he said that had the shooter missed he would've awarded a replacement free throw. Oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
Rich,
I know that you know this, but for others who may read this thread here is the official NFHS ruling for that scenario.

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2ís fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bís coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bís head coach shall be notified of B2ís disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officialís error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Zoiks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Rich,
I know that you know this, but for others who may read this thread here is the official NFHS ruling for that scenario.

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw.
I worked with this guy!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
In the Interpretation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Rich,
I know that you know this, but for others who may read this thread here is the official NFHS ruling for that scenario.

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2ís fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bís coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bís head coach shall be notified of B2ís disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officialís error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)
What if, instead of 2 tries being awarded it was a bonus situation?
Trail official is 'administering' the management of replacing a disqualified player... maybe the dq'd player is heading for the bench. Your numbskulled partner gives the ball to A1 for the first of one-and-one...

what do we have if she:
makes?
misses?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
What if, instead of 2 tries being awarded it was a bonus situation?
Trail official is 'administering' the management of replacing a disqualified player... maybe the dq'd player is heading for the bench. Your numbskulled partner gives the ball to A1 for the first of one-and-one...

what do we have if she:
makes?
misses?
This was discussed earlier

Lead Administers FT while Trail is substituting
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable errors moref Basketball 21 Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:17am
Correctable errors SamIAm Basketball 8 Wed Nov 02, 2005 02:59pm
Correctable Errors ColeTops25 Basketball 7 Tue Mar 02, 2004 09:23am
Correctable Errors sharkref Basketball 2 Thu Jan 18, 2001 08:52am
Correctable Errors Just Curious Basketball 1 Thu Dec 16, 1999 11:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1