The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 05, 2002, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 110
Question

Okay, here's what happened to me in my game tonight. I was coaching.

Boys 7-8 game. Overtime with 7.3 seconds left.

A1 is on the line for the second shot of a 1 and 1 bonus. Score is 35-32 in favour of B.

A1 attempts to glance a shot off the rim, but FT goes up and doesn't hit the rim. Offials do not call the missed rim. A2 rebounds the ball, kicks it out to A3 who nails a 3 pointer to re-tie the game. Official signals the made 3 and the buzzer sounds as the ball drops through the hoop.

Coach B is yelling that there was no rim. Official comes to ask my opinion (since when do officials ask coaches for their opinions) as to whether this was a correctable error or not.

I suggested that since the buzzer was the first dead ball after the made basket, that this was a correctable error, since the basket never should have counted in the first place because of the missed rim on the 2nd FT. Therefore, reset the clock to 7.3 seconds and hand the ball to B under A's basket. Final score 35-32.

Although I wasn't officiating this game, would this have been the right call?

Ren
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1