The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I'll probably regret this but here goes.

I am in complete agreement with everyone about the intent of 7-6-6 and how we should apply it. But the way it is written is messing up my world.

To answer the question: "Does it matter if A1 had not completed the throw-in?" I didn't think so until they wrote 7-6-6. Now if the throw-in has not ended, I can still correct the mistake.

Here is the part I am going to regret. Even though it is not a CE as defined in 2-10 it is an error that we are able to correct if it is done within the time frame stated in 7-6-6. In the CE's there are situations where activity shall be cancelled and situations where activity shall not be nullified. I understand this is not a CE and the CE rules will not apply but there is precedent for cancelling activity that occurs during a mistake that we are allowed, by rule, to correct. Now that 7-6-6 is in the book, using specific language of when a throw-in ends, it has muddied the waters for me.

What rules would we have applied to this situation before 7-6-6 was written? Or is it just the lack of rules for this situation that would have rendered our ruling? Prior to 7-6-6 what rule allowed us to stop play, ending the throw-in and award the ball to the correct team?
You're right it is not a CE, so CE procedures would not apply. Even so, I believe the only mention of ever cancelling activity would be the result of an unmerited FT, or a FT at the wrong basket. For any other CE, all points scored, fouls, etc., woul still stand.

Since this isn't an unmerited FT specifically, or for that matter a CE in general, I don't know of any rule that would allow us to wipe off a foul after the fact. Therefore, the throw-in would be the result of the penalty from the foul, and the previous throw-in is "gone", just like it would be if the proper team had been attempting it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stuff CJN Baseball 10 Sun Aug 28, 2005 05:18pm
Personal stuff Adam Basketball 12 Thu Jul 07, 2005 07:43am
stupid stuff rhsc Softball 3 Sat Apr 23, 2005 08:49am
Ref Stuff JMN Football 4 Tue Aug 19, 2003 01:16pm
Odd Stuff JJ Baseball 0 Mon Sep 03, 2001 01:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1