Thread: 7-6-6 stuff
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 11:31am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I disagree (4-42-5).

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded the ball for a throw-in under their own basket. Team B fouls prior to the throw-in ending. Team A is not in the bonus.

According to 7-6-6 we can still rectify the mistake. Which would be to award Team B the ball for a throw-in. However, there was activity that carries a penalty that allows for Team A to be awarded the ball for a throw-in.

IMO, all activity stands. 7-6-6 doesn't mean that we must rectify the mistake before the throw-in ends, it just means we can't rectify it after the throw-in ends.

I know I'm having this argument with myself but most of my arguments are with myself. I'm just looking for comfirmation and clarity so that I can easily explain it to fellow association members.
Tanner had it right. You got 'er wrong.

See case book plays 7.6.6. The RULING says that no correction can be made for the mistake after the throw-in ends. And the COMMENT in new case book play 4.42.5 states the kicking violation ends the AP throw-in.

Very straight language. Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote