The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7IronRef View Post
I am new to the site and new to college officiating.

Looking for input on the following situation, it is a casebook play (A.R.77)

Bonus is in effect; and while the ball is in flight during a try for goal, A1 charges into B1, which is Team A's 7th foul in the half. Then, there is BI by

...

even though A1 is an airborne shooter?

...
JR, Nevada,

Where in the sitch does it indicate an airborne shooter? Since A1 was not fouled, it does not matter in the sitch as the ball has left the shooters hand, correct?
(It also does not say that A1 was not airborne)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Where in the sitch does it indicate an airborne shooter?
It doesn't. But, if A1 had returned to the ground, then the ruling is the same in all codes (B shoots bonus FTs), and the OP (likely) wouldn't be confused.

So, the logical (but not definitive) assumption is that A1 is airborne.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 11:45am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I know it is confusing, but the NCAA diffentiates a Charge vs. Player control foul...

A charge refers to the situation where there is a release and crash. The player control refers to when there is contact before the release.

I was really confused by the plays in the casebook and this terminology. The rules folks should probably look at the word choice and make it clearer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I know it is confusing, but the NCAA diffentiates a Charge vs. Player control foul...
It's not confusing, just different. And it's NCAA-M, not all NCAA.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 12:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I know it is confusing, but the NCAA diffentiates a Charge vs. Player control foul...

A charge refers to the situation where there is a release and crash. The player control refers to when there is contact before the release.

I was really confused by the plays in the casebook and this terminology. The rules folks should probably look at the word choice and make it clearer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It's not confusing, just different. And it's NCAA-M, not all NCAA.
To be even more precise, "charges" cover only a portion of PC fouls, and PC fouls only cover a portion of "charging" fouls. The terms "charge" and "player control" are not interchangeable.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 04:25pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
To be even more precise, "charges" cover only a portion of PC fouls, and PC fouls only cover a portion of "charging" fouls. The terms "charge" and "player control" are not interchangeable.
No... there is no player control on a release and then a crash. This is what the NCAA men's casebook refers to as a Charge.

It is really confusing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 04:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
No... there is no player control on a release and then a crash. This is what the NCAA men's casebook refers to as a Charge.

It is really confusing.
True, but slightly off my point.
A charge does not require player control, it doesn't even require the player ever had the ball or be on offense. Example: A2 sets a screen and B1 plows through it. This is a charging foul.

Some rebounding fouls are also charges.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on NCAA 10.2.3 KJUmp Softball 3 Fri Mar 12, 2010 05:40pm
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
NCAA Question tpaul Football 6 Wed Feb 01, 2006 04:50pm
NCAA KCI Question mikesears Football 2 Sun Nov 23, 2003 05:10pm
NCAA FT question ChuckElias Basketball 9 Fri Nov 08, 2002 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1