![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let me put it another way. A1 lifts the pivot and starts to step into the pass, but A2 has cut the other way and the pass is no longer available. Often you see A1 try to stop, but the ball comes out anyway. The decision to be made here is whether it was a pass or a fumble. But, if the motion obviously stops, A1 hesitates, then obviously, deliberately drops the ball straight to the floor, no way does this seem to me to be that he "threw, batted, or rolled the ball to another player."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
In reality, this is much ado about very little. In most travel/illegal dribble cases like this, the violator does touch the ball again immediately. The reason for the reluctance is that nothing in the rules states that a second touch is necessary to define a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
A1 tries to save the ball under his own basket and tumbles into the bleachers. B gains control and goes the other way. As A1 returns to the court, A2 makes a steal and passes ahead to A1 at the free throw line. A1 turns to take it to the basket. He bounces the ball twice, but he uses both hands for both bounces. About this time he slips on a wet spot and crashes to the floor. He doesn't touch the ball after the second bounce. All other players are still on the other side of the division line. Is this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Unlike you, I can't read minds. I couldn't be sure that slip might have had something to do with losing control of the ball after the second bounce. I also couldn't be sure that A1 wasn't trying to leave a high bounce for a trailer. I learned a long time ago to try to call what I can explain. And I don't like 'splainin' that I thought something might have happened. I like to try to call only things that I'm sure of. And because I can't read minds, I'm not 100% sure what A1 was trying to do with the 2-handed second bounce. But hey, that's just me. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Travel or Not? | curtstrouth | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:56pm |
| Where did the OBS occur? | UmpireErnie | Softball | 8 | Mon May 23, 2005 10:24am |
| When is getting up a travel? | CYO Butch | Basketball | 23 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am |
| A travel or not a travel | RefJeff | Basketball | 4 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm |
| No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 49 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm |