The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Both ASA and NFHS rules state that an obstructed runner cannot be put out between the bases which they were obstructed. That's fine if the obstructing feilder is between two bases, but what about when she is at, on, or straddling a base? Do we go by the location of the runner, or the feilder?

Play: B1 hits to right field, F3 stands on 1B as if to receive a throw but no throw is ever made. B1 alters path to round on outside of bag or on orange part of double first base. Umpire signals OBS. F9 throw to F6 at 2B who tags out B1 easily. In umpire's judgement B1 would have never made 2B obstructed or not. So now the question is: was B1 obstructed between Home and 1B or between 1B and 2B?

I feel that B1 is obstructed between 1B and 2B since it was her advance beyond 1B that was obstructed, not her advance from Home to 1B. If she is played on between 1B and 2B we have dead ball, obstruction inforced, B1 returned to 1B. Agreed?

Some OBS threads on another board got me thinking about how to apply the "between the bases" portion of this rule.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1