The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 07:52am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Well, if we ever work together let's hope this play only happens once, because it's going to be called differently depending on whose primary it is in.
While you're hoping, why not hope it never happens at all, which seems a pretty safe bet. I don't think I've ever seen it happen.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
While you're hoping, why not hope it never happens at all, which seems a pretty safe bet. I don't think I've ever seen it happen.
Yeah, but the jumping for a shot and dropping the ball does happen from time to time.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the drop is all part of the original motion, or close enough that one can imagine such, treat it as an errant pass, and see what happens next. If the motion clearly stops, and there is a discernible pause, followed by a deliberate drop straight to the floor, it sounds like the start of a dribble to me, which means that it would be a travel.
"Discernible pause"? Really? Dude, now you're making sh!te up. (And: this isn't baseball.)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
"Discernible pause"? Really? Dude, now you're making sh!te up. (And: this isn't baseball.)
I think it's time for a poll
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:34am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
"Discernible pause"? Really? Dude, now you're making sh!te up. (And: this isn't baseball.)
Yeah, kinda like calling a balk. Let me put it another way. A1 lifts the pivot and starts to step into the pass, but A2 has cut the other way and the pass is no longer available. Often you see A1 try to stop, but the ball comes out anyway. The decision to be made here is whether it was a pass or a fumble. But, if the motion obviously stops, A1 hesitates, then obviously, deliberately drops the ball straight to the floor, no way does this seem to me to be that he "threw, batted, or rolled the ball to another player."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Yeah, kinda like calling a balk. Let me put it another way. A1 lifts the pivot and starts to step into the pass, but A2 has cut the other way and the pass is no longer available. Often you see A1 try to stop, but the ball comes out anyway. The decision to be made here is whether it was a pass or a fumble. But, if the motion obviously stops, A1 hesitates, then obviously, deliberately drops the ball straight to the floor, no way does this seem to me to be that he "threw, batted, or rolled the ball to another player."
And no way I call a travel without him touching the ball again.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:46am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Yeah, kinda like calling a balk. Let me put it another way. A1 lifts the pivot and starts to step into the pass, but A2 has cut the other way and the pass is no longer available. Often you see A1 try to stop, but the ball comes out anyway. The decision to be made here is whether it was a pass or a fumble. But, if the motion obviously stops, A1 hesitates, then obviously, deliberately drops the ball straight to the floor, no way does this seem to me to be that he "threw, batted, or rolled the ball to another player."
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
And no way I call a travel without him touching the ball again.
Yep, nothing specifies that the thrower needs to know his recipient, nor throw it directly to a player. I just don't understand the reluctance to let this play out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 08:57am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yep, nothing specifies that the thrower needs to know his recipient, nor throw it directly to a player. I just don't understand the reluctance to let this play out.
In reality, this is much ado about very little. In most travel/illegal dribble cases like this, the violator does touch the ball again immediately. The reason for the reluctance is that nothing in the rules states that a second touch is necessary to define a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:06am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
A1 tries to save the ball under his own basket and tumbles into the bleachers. B gains control and goes the other way. As A1 returns to the court, A2 makes a steal and passes ahead to A1 at the free throw line. A1 turns to take it to the basket. He bounces the ball twice, but he uses both hands for both bounces. About this time he slips on a wet spot and crashes to the floor. He doesn't touch the ball after the second bounce. All other players are still on the other side of the division line. Is this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In reality, this is much ado about very little. In most travel/illegal dribble cases like this, the violator does touch the ball again immediately. The reason for the reluctance is that nothing in the rules states that a second touch is necessary to define a dribble.
You're correct, it's not required in the rules (I reluctantly admit to liking the FIBA definition better here), but nothing requires it to be called, either. It's judgment, and frankly, as long as I can, within the rules, justify playing on, I'm going that route anyway. IOW, if I'm not absolutely positive it's a violation (dribble in this case), I'm not going to call it and the only way I can be absolutely positive it's a dribble is when A1 is the first to touch the ball in this scenario.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:12am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 tries to save the ball under his own basket and tumbles into the bleachers. B gains control and goes the other way. As A1 returns to the court, A2 makes a steal and passes ahead to A1 at the free throw line. A1 turns to take it to the basket. He bounces the ball twice, but he uses both hands for both bounces. About this time he slips on a wet spot and crashes to the floor. He doesn't touch the ball after the second bounce. All other players are still on the other side of the division line. Is this a violation?
It depends, of course, on whether you judge that 2nd bounce to be a dribble. Personally, if he doesn't touch it, I'd be inclined to let it play out until the rules tell me I can't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:20am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 tries to save the ball under his own basket and tumbles into the bleachers. B gains control and goes the other way. As A1 returns to the court, A2 makes a steal and passes ahead to A1 at the free throw line. A1 turns to take it to the basket. He bounces the ball twice, but he uses both hands for both bounces. ...
End of the play right there...my whistle is blowing.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
End of the play right there...my whistle is blowing.
Even though he doesn't touch the ball after the 2nd bounce?
Here's how I read his play:'
1. Bounce with two hands.
2. Catch with two hands.
3. Bounce.
4. Slip.
5. Ball flies away.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Even though he doesn't touch the ball after the 2nd bounce?
Here's how I read his play:'
1. Bounce with two hands.
2. Catch with two hands.
3. Bounce.
4. Slip.
5. Ball flies away.
In this play he has already started his dribble and that 2nd bounce is part of the dribble. If however he attempted to catch the ball and fumbled it then no, I wouldn't have a violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In this play he has already started his dribble and that 2nd bounce is part of the dribble. If however he attempted to catch the ball and fumbled it then no, I wouldn't have a violation.
Fair enough.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel or Not? curtstrouth Basketball 10 Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:56pm
Where did the OBS occur? UmpireErnie Softball 8 Mon May 23, 2005 10:24am
When is getting up a travel? CYO Butch Basketball 23 Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am
A travel or not a travel RefJeff Basketball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1