![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
What violation has occurred if A1 palms/carries the ball? If A1 committed a pivot-foot violation while carrying the ball, he has committed a traveling violation by rule. If A1 did not travel during the palm/carry, and then dribbles again after the ball had come to rest on the palm/carry, then A1 has committed an illegal second dribble, also by rule. But what violation can you call if A1 doesn't travel during the carry and then also doesn't touch the ball again after dropping it at the end of the palm/carry? I can't justify calling that a dribble because...well...A1 never actually dribbled..... but that's just me. Agree to disagree. Neither one of us is going to change the other one's mind. |
|
|||
OK, I was wrong.
I'm not done. ![]() I thought of another question. For those who say another touch is required, does it have to be with the hands? If the player about to get his shot blocked drops the ball, and it bounces up and hits his leg, does this make it a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I dunno: does that make it a dribble?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
"intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)" |
|
|||
Quote:
The rest of the definition by the way: pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. He already pushed it to the floor once. Case closed.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
He is not here, for he has been raised just as he said. (Matthew 28:6)
We'll look forward to hearing from you on Sunday.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Pushing the ball to the floor is necessary but not sufficient for the act to be a dribble. It's also necessary that he touch it again. Together these conditions are jointly sufficient.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Travel or Not? | curtstrouth | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:56pm |
Where did the OBS occur? | UmpireErnie | Softball | 8 | Mon May 23, 2005 10:24am |
When is getting up a travel? | CYO Butch | Basketball | 23 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am |
A travel or not a travel | RefJeff | Basketball | 4 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm |
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 49 | Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm |