The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopsaddict View Post
Yes you have a backcourt violation when A1 is the first to touch the ball as it goes into the backcourt.
That is what I have. Line is part of it so Backcourt
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
That is what I have. Line is part of it so Backcourt
Okay, how about this one.
A1 standing in the FC, holding the ball near the division line (table side) with pressure. He looks away from the table and sees teammate A2 standing in the FC near the division line so he reaches over the line and throws a bounces pass to A2. It bounces twice before A2 catches it, standing in the FC. The first bounce is in the BC, and the second bounce is in the FC.

What's the call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, how about this one.
A1 standing in the FC, holding the ball near the division line (table side) with pressure. He looks away from the table and sees teammate A2 standing in the FC near the division line so he reaches over the line and throws a bounces pass to A2. It bounces twice before A2 catches it, standing in the FC. The first bounce is in the BC, and the second bounce is in the FC.

What's the call?
Nothing if its caught on the 2nd bounce. The ball had Frontcourt status.

If caught on the first, the ball had Backcourt status. Violation
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Nothing if its caught on the 2nd bounce. The ball had Frontcourt status.
Let's work through this one. I'll answer the first three:

Team control? Yes
Ball had frontcourt status? Yes
A was last to touch before the ball had backcourt status? Yes.

Final question: Was A the first to touch the ball after it had backcourt status?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Read 9-9-1, then see if you still think it's legal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Read 9-9-1, then see if you still think it's legal.
Sorry I don't have my books with me. So even though it was caught on the 2nd bounce which hit in the frontcourt it is still a Violation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9-9-3
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
You'll note, it doesn't say "first to touch the ball in the backcourt."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:29pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Sorry I don't have my books with me. So even though it was caught on the 2nd bounce which hit in the frontcourt it is still a Violation?
Key phrase: (paraphrasing) Cannot be first to touch ball after it gains backcourt status after having team control in frontcourt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Key phrase: (paraphrasing) Cannot be first to touch ball after it gains backcourt status after having team control in frontcourt.
Still a little confused but okay. I sort of get it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? zac Basketball 5 Sat Oct 24, 2009 09:47pm
Backcourt Violation? williebfree Basketball 39 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:21pm
Backcourt violation? jroche Basketball 34 Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm
Backcourt Violation? Mark Dexter Basketball 8 Fri Nov 30, 2001 08:21pm
Backcourt violation?? glind Basketball 6 Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1