![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Work through it. Answer the four questions above.
|
|
|||
|
If he gained possession with both (one in the frontcourt and one in the backcourt) then "Nothing". However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation" If he gained possession with that one foot in the frontcourt followed by the other in the backcourt then "Violation" Right? |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. Last edited by Adam; Thu Feb 11, 2010 at 11:42am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Situation: A1 catches ball with left foot in frontcourt and right foot in backcourt. While holding the ball, he lifts his right foot, then returns it to the ground in the backcourt without it ever touching the frontcourt. What do you have now? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Unless you argue that the pivot foot was in the frontcourt and remained there when the right foot was lifted. Therefore you had frontcourt status even if the right foot came back down. (that would be my argument as a coach) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
If the player is airborne when catching the ball, it doesn't matter which foot lands first. The player is entitled to a "normal landing." Even if the FC foot lands first, if a normal landing puts one foot in the back court (and on the line counts), this player has BC status with the pivot foot in the FC. If this player then starts dribbling while BC status is in effect, the three points rule comes into play and the player will not gain FC status until the ball and both feet hit the FC in immediate succession. As an aside: if the player gets two feet in the FC, but is dribbling in the BC, he will gain FC status by picking up the dribble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
How about this one, newbies:
A has the ball in the FC, and it gets away from A1 at the top of the key. The ball is bouncing toward the BC. As A1 reaches the division line, he reaches for the ball, bounces it once right on the division line, then grabs it with both hands. A1 never touches the BC. Violation? Explain.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
||||
|
Okay, how about this one.
A1 standing in the FC, holding the ball near the division line (table side) with pressure. He looks away from the table and sees teammate A2 standing in the FC near the division line so he reaches over the line and throws a bounces pass to A2. It bounces twice before A2 catches it, standing in the FC. The first bounce is in the BC, and the second bounce is in the FC. What's the call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If caught on the first, the ball had Backcourt status. Violation |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation? | zac | Basketball | 5 | Sat Oct 24, 2009 09:47pm |
| Backcourt Violation? | williebfree | Basketball | 39 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:21pm |
| Backcourt violation? | jroche | Basketball | 34 | Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm |
| Backcourt Violation? | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 8 | Fri Nov 30, 2001 08:21pm |
| Backcourt violation?? | glind | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am |