The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Perhaps a good way to explain it is, on a throw-in, you need to know what status the ball has when possession is established. If you know that, then you can rule on everything that happens after that. First, does the exception apply (airborne when ball is first touched)? If so, no violation. If it doesn't, then answer the following questions?

1. Team Control by A? (If so, move to the next)
2. Ball has frontcourt status? (If so, move to the next)
3. A was last to touch in frontcourt? (If so, move to next)
4. A was first to touch after the ball has obtained backcourt status?

If you answer yes to all, you have a violation. If you answer no to any, you don't.

These may happen quickly, but process: once you've identified control, then you just have to watch status. If it goes frontcourt to backcourt, then you have to determine who touched it last in frontcourt and who touched it first after it went backcourt.

Long explanation for: you have to watch the ball and the player.

Last edited by jdw3018; Thu Feb 11, 2010 at 10:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post

If you answer yes to all, you have a violation. If you answer yes to none, you don't.

Not correct, and it leaves out too many possibilities. The correct decision procedure is: "Yes to all: violation; otherwise not."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Not correct, and it leaves out too many possibilities. The correct decision procedure is: "Yes to all: violation; otherwise not."
Right, of course, and what I meant to type. Will edit to correct. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Perhaps a good way to explain it is, on a throw-in, you need to know what status the ball has when possession is established. If you know that, then you can rule on everything that happens after that. First, does the exception apply (airborne when ball is first touched)? If so, no violation. If it doesn't, then answer the following questions?

1. Team Control by A? (If so, move to the next)
2. Ball has frontcourt status? (If so, move to the next)
3. A was last to touch in frontcourt? (If so, move to next)
4. A was first to touch after the ball has obtained backcourt status?

If you answer yes to all, you have a violation. If you answer no to any, you don't.

These may happen quickly, but process: once you've identified control, then you just have to watch status. If it goes frontcourt to backcourt, then you have to determine who touched it last in frontcourt and who touched it first after it went backcourt.

Long explanation for: you have to watch the ball and the player.
Say a player gains control with one foot in the front court and one foot on the line or in the backcourt? No Violation? Why?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 10:44am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Say a player gains control with one foot in the front court and one foot on the line or in the backcourt? No Violation? Why?
First, we need to know more.
1. Is this player establishing team control at this time? If so, no violation as you have a player establishing team control with BC status.
If TC had already been established, then it matters what happened before, and what status the ball has had prior.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Say a player gains control with one foot in the front court and one foot on the line or in the backcourt? No Violation? Why?
Work through it. Answer the four questions above.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Work through it. Answer the four questions above.

If he gained possession with both (one in the frontcourt and one in the backcourt) then "Nothing". However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation"

If he gained possession with that one foot in the frontcourt followed by the other in the backcourt then "Violation"

Right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
If he gained possession with both (one in the frontcourt and one in the backcourt) then "Nothing". However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation"

If he gained possession with that one foot in the frontcourt followed by the other in the backcourt then "Violation"

Right?
Right, as long as he gained possession with that foot on the floor. If he gained it airborne and landed with that foot down first, the other foot can come down in the BC and he now has BC status legally. (assuming, of course, he is catching a throw-in pass and his catch is the first touch of that throw in pass).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Thu Feb 11, 2010 at 11:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
However, if he pivots the backcourt foot to the front court and then back to the backcourt then "Violation"
You were right. However, this statement can actually be a bit more complex.

Situation: A1 catches ball with left foot in frontcourt and right foot in backcourt. While holding the ball, he lifts his right foot, then returns it to the ground in the backcourt without it ever touching the frontcourt.

What do you have now?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
You were right. However, this statement can actually be a bit more complex.

Situation: A1 catches ball with left foot in frontcourt and right foot in backcourt. While holding the ball, he lifts his right foot, then returns it to the ground in the backcourt without it ever touching the frontcourt.

What do you have now?
Violation. Once the right foot is lifted he now has front court status. When it returns its a violation?

Unless you argue that the pivot foot was in the frontcourt and remained there when the right foot was lifted. Therefore you had frontcourt status even if the right foot came back down. (that would be my argument as a coach)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 02:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Violation. Once the right foot is lifted he now has front court status. When it returns its a violation?

Unless you argue that the pivot foot was in the frontcourt and remained there when the right foot was lifted. Therefore you had frontcourt status even if the right foot came back down. (that would be my argument as a coach)
I'm not sure what you're getting at with the pivot foot. The pivot foot is irrelevant when it comes to player location.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 10:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopsaddict View Post
If both feet land at the same time while cathing the throw in pass then the player would have backcourt status due to his/her one foot on the line. Once she picks up the one foot on the line with the ball in his/her hand or dribbling in the front court then the player would have front court status and can't place anything (ball or either foot) in the backcourt. Doing so would be a violation.
Not quite right.
If the player is airborne when catching the ball, it doesn't matter which foot lands first. The player is entitled to a "normal landing." Even if the FC foot lands first, if a normal landing puts one foot in the back court (and on the line counts), this player has BC status with the pivot foot in the FC.

If this player then starts dribbling while BC status is in effect, the three points rule comes into play and the player will not gain FC status until the ball and both feet hit the FC in immediate succession.

As an aside: if the player gets two feet in the FC, but is dribbling in the BC, he will gain FC status by picking up the dribble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
As an aside: if the player gets two feet in the FC, but is dribbling in the BC, he will gain FC status by picking up the dribble.
And, more important, so will the ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
How about this one, newbies:

A has the ball in the FC, and it gets away from A1 at the top of the key. The ball is bouncing toward the BC. As A1 reaches the division line, he reaches for the ball, bounces it once right on the division line, then grabs it with both hands. A1 never touches the BC. Violation? Explain.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopsaddict View Post
Yes you have a backcourt violation when A1 is the first to touch the ball as it goes into the backcourt.
That is what I have. Line is part of it so Backcourt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? zac Basketball 5 Sat Oct 24, 2009 09:47pm
Backcourt Violation? williebfree Basketball 39 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:21pm
Backcourt violation? jroche Basketball 34 Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm
Backcourt Violation? Mark Dexter Basketball 8 Fri Nov 30, 2001 08:21pm
Backcourt violation?? glind Basketball 6 Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1