The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Line violation

If player A1 attempts to step out of bounds after player B1 makes a basket but doesn't get out of bounds and inbounds the basketball that in turn was stolen by B2 and put in the basket. what would the call be. I blew it dead waived off the basket and called a line violation. Was I correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
If player A1 attempts to step out of bounds after player B1 makes a basket but doesn't get out of bounds and inbounds the basketball that in turn was stolen by B2 and put in the basket. what would the call be. I blew it dead waived off the basket and called a line violation. Was I correct?
Throw-in violation by A1. Anything that came after doesn't matter. B's ball for a throw-in nearest the point of the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
If player A1 attempts to step out of bounds after player B1 makes a basket but doesn't get out of bounds and inbounds the basketball that in turn was stolen by B2 and put in the basket. what would the call be. I blew it dead waived off the basket and called a line violation. Was I correct?
Yes, it's a throw-in violation. No such thing as a line violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
If player A1 attempts to step out of bounds after player B1 makes a basket but doesn't get out of bounds and inbounds the basketball that in turn was stolen by B2 and put in the basket. what would the call be. I blew it dead waived off the basket and called a line violation. Was I correct?
Case book play 9.2.2SitC if you want to do some reading....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Case book play 9.2.2SitC if you want to do some reading....
Too easy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Is it a violation if one of the feet is out of bounds while they hang the other over the end line?
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Is it a violation if one of the feet is out of bounds while they hang the other over the end line?
What do you think and why?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:59pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
So...if a player is holding the ball and they are standing on one foot inbounds and the other foot is "hanging" over the sideline, they are OOB?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
Really? What rule does it violate?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Good points - well taken

__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Now, here's a play:

A1 OOB for a throw in, takes a running start and leaps over the line before releasing the throwin pass. By the time he releases the pass, both feet are definitively over the in bounds area.

Call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Based on what I learned from this thread -I would go with 'nothing', but I will do some reading on it as well.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating there is no depth limitation. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the player need to step over the BC line to be a BC violation? craiglaw Basketball 6 Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:24pm
FIBA - division line throw-in violation JugglingReferee Basketball 17 Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:09am
foot on center line... violation? dvtaylor Volleyball 8 Fri Sep 14, 2007 03:41pm
restraining line violation shont Basketball 5 Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:31pm
throw-in boundary line violation mdray Basketball 28 Mon Dec 09, 2002 05:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1