The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:59pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
So...if a player is holding the ball and they are standing on one foot inbounds and the other foot is "hanging" over the sideline, they are OOB?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
I think it is and have called it once this year because the foot is breaking the plane - much like a free throw violation -
Really? What rule does it violate?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Good points - well taken

__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Now, here's a play:

A1 OOB for a throw in, takes a running start and leaps over the line before releasing the throwin pass. By the time he releases the pass, both feet are definitively over the in bounds area.

Call?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Based on what I learned from this thread -I would go with 'nothing', but I will do some reading on it as well.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating there is no depth limitation. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating there is no depth limitation. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.
Right, there's no depth limitation either way.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating there is no depth limitation. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.
I disagree. The designated throw-in spot is entirely OOB. If the thrower does not have one foot over the OOB area, then he does not have at least one foot on or over the designated throw-in spot. I'd call a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Now, here's a play:

A1 OOB for a throw in, takes a running start and leaps over the line before releasing the throwin pass. By the time he releases the pass, both feet are definitively over the in bounds area.

Call?

I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 01:36am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike View Post
I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.
The traveling and dribble rules are not in effect during a throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike View Post
I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The traveling and dribble rules are not in effect during a throw-in.
4.42.6 SITUATION: Following a personal foul by B3, the official indicates to
Team A that they shall inbound the ball from a spot 10 feet from the sideline. In
(a), A1 jumps in the air, over the designated spot, and passes the ball inbounds;
(b) A1 has one foot within the designated-spot area but lifts it from the floor as
the inbounds pass is made; or (c) A1 moves directly backwards from the designated
spot by 6 feet and passes the ball inbounds. RULING: Legal in (a), (b) and
(c). As long as the thrower maintains any portion of his/her body on or above the
3-foot designated-spot area while making the throw-in, the throw-in shall be
legal.

LEAVING DESIGNATED SPOT
7.6.3 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a designated-spot throw-in. The
administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at A1’s disposal. In
order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, A1 takes
several steps directly backward, but keeps one foot on or over the designated
area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass. RULING: Legal throw-in. It is
permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide
designated area without violating and he/she may move laterally if at least one
foot is kept on or over the designated area until the ball is released. The thrower
may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. COMMENT:
Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in. The
thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the player need to step over the BC line to be a BC violation? craiglaw Basketball 6 Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:24pm
FIBA - division line throw-in violation JugglingReferee Basketball 17 Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:09am
foot on center line... violation? dvtaylor Volleyball 8 Fri Sep 14, 2007 03:41pm
restraining line violation shont Basketball 5 Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:31pm
throw-in boundary line violation mdray Basketball 28 Mon Dec 09, 2002 05:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1