The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7
Does the player need to step over the BC line to be a BC violation?

In a game yesterday, the player lost control of the ball, and the ball headed toward the back court. No contact by the defender. P was able to avoid stepping over the back court line, but dribbled the ball once in the BC before bring it back. In other words, only the ball was in the back court.

I've never seen this exact situation before. No call was made. Is that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by craiglaw View Post
In a game yesterday, the player lost control of the ball, and the ball headed toward the back court. No contact by the defender. P was able to avoid stepping over the back court line, but dribbled the ball once in the BC before bring it back. In other words, only the ball was in the back court.

I've never seen this exact situation before. No call was made. Is that correct?
The player does not have to be in the back court for there to be a violation. The rule states that the offense shall not be the last to touch the ball while in the front court and then be the first to touch the ball in the back court. The rule doesn't require that the player be in the back court, just the ball. So when the player dribbled the ball in the back court he violated because he was the the first to touch it while the ball had back court status.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
The player does not have to be in the back court for there to be a violation. The rule states that the offense shall not be the last to touch the ball while in the front court and then be the first to touch the ball in the back court. The rule doesn't require that the player be in the back court, just the ball. So when the player dribbled the ball in the back court he violated because he was the the first to touch it while the ball had back court status.
Actually, the rule doesn't even require what you claim.
The ball does not have to be in the backcourt or have backcourt status when a player from the team in control becomes the first to touch it AFTER it has been in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by craiglaw View Post
In a game yesterday, the player lost control of the ball, and the ball headed toward the back court. No contact by the defender. P was able to avoid stepping over the back court line, but dribbled the ball once in the BC before bring it back. In other words, only the ball was in the back court.

I've never seen this exact situation before. No call was made. Is that correct?
Team control with A, ball has frontcourt status, A1 last to touch in frontcourt before going to backcourt, ball establishes itself it backcourt, A1 first to touch...Violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 12:04pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Also remember that the division line is somewhat mystical. It's in one team's backcourt and the other team's frontcourt at the same time. That means the ball only has to touch the line, not go over it, to be in backcourt in your situation.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 03:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
It's in one team's backcourt and the other team's frontcourt at the same time.
You're gonna need to explain this one further.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
It's in one team's backcourt and the other team's frontcourt at the same time.
Nope, it's in both team's backcourt at the same time. If team A has the ball in team B's frontcourt, at that time the division line is in team A's backcourt and it is also in team B's backcourt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step on Line -- Legal or Illegal? Juulie Downs Basketball 48 Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:22pm
OOB Throw In - Step on the line Bresquire Basketball 23 Sun Oct 26, 2008 05:42pm
Player outside the line BIG O Basketball 15 Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:16pm
Throw-in ... Step Over Line Richard Ogg Basketball 31 Sat Oct 26, 2002 10:13am
Player steps on division line while in Front Court , is this a violation Br36ian Basketball 2 Wed Jan 10, 2001 12:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1