The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 07:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Louisville @ Seton Hall tonight. In final seconds of close game, defense challenging, player inbounding takes step across line and then throws ball to referee. Referee throws back to inbounder who makes nice pass to beat the pressure.

I hope a lot of coaches were watching because thats a great play, sort of a 6 on 5.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Is it just me, or did it sound like a whistle was blown after the made basket? You can see all the players stop play as if one was blown. That's the only way I can see why the violation wasn't called.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
Certainly not as clear as watching it on ESPN360 but here is what it looked like for those who don't get ESPN360 or have it Tivo-ed

YouTube - Seaton Hall Louisville Inbound Play 2010

or

YouTube - Seaton Hall Louisville.avi
For those who haven't seen this, you absolutely must have a look.
It says SETON HALL PIRATES across the end line from opposite table to the the tableside with the "ALL P" within the FT lane lines extended.

My observations:
1. There is definitely a whistle following the made 3pt goal by LV. I managed to pause the video at 1.1 after the ball passed through, but the clock runs down to 0.7.
2. All of the players stop due to that sound.
3. The inbounder is on the opposite side of the basket from the new Trail who is tableside. He collects the ball steps OOB with both feet and then carries the ball onto the court by stepping back inbounds with both feet as he seems to be confused. He is about to toss the ball to the covering official, Tony Greene, but then one of his teammate calls for it and the other players start to play. The inbounder is standing with both feet inbounds and turns and looks to make the throw-in pass from that location to his teammate. During this action Greene has counted to two.
4. Tony Greene now steps forward and whistles. The play is clearly dead at this point. He motions the player back behind the line. The player tosses him the ball, and then he throws it back to him and starts the five second count.
5. Rick Pitino, the LV coach, runs down the sideline to argue for a throw-in violation.
6. The Seton Hall player attempts a throw-in pass from between the N and H in SETON HALL, which the LV defender blocks by CLEARLY reaching across the boundary plane and deflecting the ball just after it comes out of the thrower's hands and the ball bounces OOB twice and Greene catches it. The first bounce of the ball seems to be on the P in PIRATES on the tableside part of the end line, which means the ball was in the air for the length of the FT lane. No time comes off the clock during this action!
7. Greene does not penalize the LV player for his infraction. It should be a technical foul, class B.
8. Greene walks Pitino back to his bench and then administers Seton Hall another throw-in.
9. Greene is not precise with where he administers this designated-spot throw-in. The first look that we have is the thrower on the opposite side of the basket from before and on the A in PIRATES. The thrower moves along the end line, more than 3ft in my opinion, and throws the ball in while straddling the I. No violation is called.
10. Seton Hall catches it and is fouled with 0.2 seconds remaining.

What a mess.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
6. The Seton Hall player attempts a throw-in pass from between the N and H in SETON HALL, which the LV defender blocks by CLEARLY reaching across the boundary plane and deflecting the ball just after it comes out of the thrower's hands and the ball bounces OOB twice and Greene catches it. The first bounce of the ball seems to be on the P in PIRATES on the tableside part of the end line, which means the ball was in the air for the length of the FT lane. No time comes off the clock during this action!
7. Greene does not penalize the LV player for his infraction. It should be a technical foul, class B.
Is the NCAA rule on boundary planes different than the NFHS?

If not, the deflection of the ball after it was released would be legal, would it not? Likely he had to reach across the plane of the boundary before the ball was released which should have resulted in a DOG warning?

Everything else I agree on. This was a mess.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Is the NCAA rule on boundary planes different than the NFHS?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 02:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Is the NCAA rule on boundary planes different than the NFHS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes.
The rule is different as bob notes. I have posted on this several times in the past. Under NFHS rules the defender may break the boundary plane as soon as the throw-in pass is released, but at the NCAA level he must wait until the ball breaks the boundary plane.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The rule is different as bob notes. I have posted on this several times in the past. Under NFHS rules the defender may break the boundary plane as soon as the throw-in pass is released, but at the NCAA level he must wait until the ball breaks the boundary plane.
So under NFHS rules, if a team was using the play where the throw-in player passes to a team mate who is also OOB to make the throw-in, it would be legal for a defender to intercept that pass and toss it back onto the court?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolDoug View Post
So under NFHS rules, if a team was using the play where the throw-in player passes to a team mate who is also OOB to make the throw-in, it would be legal for a defender to intercept that pass and toss it back onto the court?
Nevada said it's legal to reach across when "the throw-in pass is released." In your play, would you say that has happened?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolDoug View Post
So under NFHS rules, if a team was using the play where the throw-in player passes to a team mate who is also OOB to make the throw-in, it would be legal for a defender to intercept that pass and toss it back onto the court?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Nevada said it's legal to reach across when "the throw-in pass is released." In your play, would you say that has happened?
VolDoug: A hint to answer mbyron's question -- the answer to your question is, "Of course not."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolDoug View Post
So under NFHS rules, if a team was using the play where the throw-in player passes to a team mate who is also OOB to make the throw-in, it would be legal for a defender to intercept that pass and toss it back onto the court?
As others have already told you a pass behind the end line to an OOB teammate is not a throw-in pass. The throw-in pass is the one which goes into the inbounds area of the court. So what you ask would be illegal even under NFHS rules.

10.3.10 SITUATION B: After a field goal, the score is A-55, B-54. A1 has the
ball out of bounds for a throw-in with two seconds remaining in the game. A1
throws the ball toward A2 who also is out of bounds along the end line. B2 reaches
across the end line and grabs or slaps the ball while it is in flight. Time expires
close to the moment the official indicates the infraction. RULING: A technical foul
is charged against B2. The remaining time or whether Team B had been previously
warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a factor. No free throws are
awarded as the winner of the game has been determined. (9-2-10 Penalty 3, 4)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge Gym, Spot inbound play johnyd Basketball 53 Tue Dec 18, 2007 08:10am
Question on inbound play Quahogboy Basketball 15 Mon Dec 11, 2006 07:49am
neat trick on video ChrisSportsFan Basketball 9 Fri Jan 28, 2005 05:31am
neat learning experience ChrisSportsFan Basketball 4 Mon Sep 20, 2004 11:03am
legal inbound play?? MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 24 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1