The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 37
Huge Gym, Spot inbound play

Highschool JV girls, spot inbound play on end line. Biggest H.S. gym I was ever in. Defender very close to the line but not violating. Inbounder backs off end line 5 steps. I have to back up as to not interrupt throw in. I deliver the ball and start the count.

The girls takes 3 giant strides straight forward toward the end line and throws the ball 2 hand over head while sliding the back leg just like a soccer inbound throw. Is 3 steps directly forward, toward end line a violation?

I made no call. Help please. What's the rule?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 366
legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 08:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
No restrictions--->no violation. See RULING in case book play 7.6.3.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 08:44pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 958
I believe the throw in area for a spot throw-in is a box 3 feet wide and as deep as there is space (minimum of 3' per NFHS).

Had a couple of CYO offials who missed this today. We're visiting and home team has small gym with less than 3 feet OOB on all sides. In one game, a player was called for stepping over the OOB line even though he had less than 3' OOB. In another game, a referee called a player for a throw in violation for taking one step to the side. I will give him credit for not signalling a travel though.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated - Basketball: 305, Softball: 50.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
3' wide by infinitely deep...or somwhere close to that...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 15, 2007, 10:40pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
3' wide by infinitely deep...or somwhere close to that...
Close to infinite? Now THAT is a big gym!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 01:41am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Close to infinite? Now THAT is a big gym!
Yup; it's kinda like some football goal lines. The designated spot throw-in is 3' wide, wrapping around the earth.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
I had a throw-in spot violation yesterday. Girl starts to run the baseline, I whistle it, and she says, "you didn't say 'Spot'!" I said, "it's still a violation."

What I wanted to say was, "if I didn't say 'don't push her,' would that not be a foul?" But as in nearly all cases on the court, the irony was best kept to myself.

According to my partner, I did say "spot," though I don't recall (senator).

Weird thing was, I think she was the only person all day to run the baseline.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 10:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Yup; it's kinda like some football goal lines. The designated spot throw-in is 3' wide, wrapping around the earth.
Two problems with that:
  1. Must remain on the floor.
  2. Eventually (after a year and prolly more) the throw-in will be at the other endline.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Close to infinite? Now THAT is a big gym!
Hey, if you dig a hole deep enough, you'll end up on the other side of the world right...So essentially, they could end up on the other end of the court, right!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 03:52pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
The designated spot throw-in is 3' wide, wrapping around the earth.
Sorry, the spot can't cross the international date line, because then the game would be over, or not have yet started.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Sorry, the spot can't cross the international date line, because then the game would be over, or not have yet started.
....so A1 must release the ball for the throw-in within 24 hours and 5 seconds?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 09:25pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
....so A1 must release the ball for the throw-in within 24 hours and 5 seconds?
Unless you're on Daylight Savings Time.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
I had a throw-in spot violation yesterday. Girl starts to run the baseline, I whistle it, and she says, "you didn't say 'Spot'!" I said, "it's still a violation."

What I wanted to say was, "if I didn't say 'don't push her,' would that not be a foul?" But as in nearly all cases on the court, the irony was best kept to myself.

According to my partner, I did say "spot," though I don't recall (senator).

Weird thing was, I think she was the only person all day to run the baseline.
Just curious, if you didn't give her a visual and/or verbal signal that it was a spot throw-in, you still give her the violation? I'm assuming this is a FED rules game. I am also assuming that you didn't know if you did or didn't at the time of the violation, but was told by your partner after the fact.

I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering. We are required to give a verbal and visual signal for spot throw-ins when the clock is stopped (which I think is all the time for a spot throw-in). Again FED mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 11:39pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Just curious, if you didn't give her a visual and/or verbal signal that it was a spot throw-in, you still give her the violation? I'm assuming this is a FED rules game. I am also assuming that you didn't know if you did or didn't at the time of the violation, but was told by your partner after the fact.

I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering. We are required to give a verbal and visual signal for spot throw-ins when the clock is stopped (which I think is all the time for a spot throw-in). Again FED mechanics.
This hasn't been specifically addressed by our board that I know of but I usually always just point to a spot before I give the ball to the player. That being said, even if I don't, and she takes off running the baseline, I'm probably calling the violation. The players should know it's a spot throw-in. The only time I usually say something to a player is in a sitch like after a TO after a made basket. When I administer the throw-in, I remind them they can run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on inbound play Quahogboy Basketball 15 Mon Dec 11, 2006 07:49am
Inbound spot on tech (NFHS) mplagrow Basketball 6 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:43am
legal inbound play?? MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 24 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1