The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
How about if a time out was called before the throw in was attempted or any contact? Can the inbounds passer still run the end line after the time out and plpay is resumed?

This isn't a fishing trip, as you guys know, us coaches often don't have good knowledge of the rules. I am just trying to learn
Yes, he/she can still run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
To answer the question the OP intended to ask, yes the play is legal. I might very well no-call the contact, especially if the screener wasn't displaced. The purpose of the screen is to give the thrower space to get the ball in, and if that purpose is met, then the screener hasn't been disadvantaged. Defender has hurt only himself, and whatever advantage has been gained by the B team (legal advantage), might be taken away if a whistle is blown.

I'm not saying I'm sure that's how I'd call it, just looking at possibilities.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
To answer the question the OP intended to ask, yes the play is legal. I might very well no-call the contact, especially if the screener wasn't displaced. The purpose of the screen is to give the thrower space to get the ball in, and if that purpose is met, then the screener hasn't been disadvantaged. Defender has hurt only himself, and whatever advantage has been gained by the B team (legal advantage), might be taken away if a whistle is blown.

I'm not saying I'm sure that's how I'd call it, just looking at possibilities.
Juulie,
Quite honestly, THE MAJOR PURPOSE of running such a play IS TO DRAW FOUL caused by the contact. While I understand your view (and it is a good thought in nearly all cases), in this case, as a COACH, I really WANT (and NEED) you to call the foul so we can shoot free throws (I probably have my best FTer setting the screen).

The play is completely legal. An officiating crew should call this foul if warranted -- proper time/distance and there was enough contact to warrant a foul (would the foul have been called on the offensive end for any other "on ball" screen?).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
The play is completely legal. An officiating crew should call this foul if warranted -- proper time/distance and there was enough contact to warrant a foul (would the foul have been called on the offensive end for any other "on ball" screen?).
It's hardly an automatic foul. If the screen is blind, in my view, and your screener gets knocked over, we play on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
It's hardly an automatic foul. If the screen is blind, in my view, and your screener gets knocked over, we play on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
The play is completely legal. An officiating crew should call this foul if warranted -- proper time/distance and there was enough contact to warrant a foul (would the foul have been called on the offensive end for any other "on ball" screen?).
Smitty,
Please take the time to read my post. I think it is pretty clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Smitty,
Please take the time to read my post. I think it is pretty clear.
Your post didn't say anything about whether the screen was blind or not. That's pretty significant in determining whether the contact, even if severe, is legal or not.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Your post didn't say anything about whether the screen was blind or not. That's pretty significant in determining whether the contact, even if severe, is legal or not.
Shaqs and Smitty,
So, once again, are you going to have a "train wreck" NO CALL if the point guard comes across half court, the ball side post steps up to the top of the key, the post then PLANTS BOTH FEET, the point guard (with defender within several feet) takes FOUR STEPS while dribbling toward the screener, the defender CRASHES INTO the screener because NO DEFENDER told the point guard's defender that the screen was coming, you are going to make NO CALL because the screen was blind??? Time and distance requirements for a legal screen are NOT infinite.

The inbounds play is NO DIFFERENT! If the screener is set and gives sufficient time and distance for the defender to be aware and change course, it is a FOUL on the DEFENDER!!! It is NOT a NO CALL simply because the defender took four steps without looking where he was going....

Or do I just have a misunderstanding of a legal screen?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Juulie,
Quite honestly, THE MAJOR PURPOSE of running such a play IS TO DRAW FOUL caused by the contact. While I understand your view (and it is a good thought in nearly all cases), in this case, as a COACH, I really WANT (and NEED) you to call the foul so we can shoot free throws (I probably have my best FTer setting the screen).

The play is completely legal. An officiating crew should call this foul if warranted -- proper time/distance and there was enough contact to warrant a foul (would the foul have been called on the offensive end for any other "on ball" screen?).
Coach, I don't care if that's your purpose; it's not a valid purpose, IMO. It's like the shooter who twists his body and jumps into a defender for the purpose of drawing a foul. I'm not giving him a foul simply because he wanted one.

A foul is determined by two things:
1. Who is responsible for the contact?
2. Was the non-responsible player put at a disadvantage?

In the OP, contact can be pretty severe and still not be illegal (assuming the screen was outside the visual field of the defender.) IOW, your screener can end up on the floor with a big bruise and a no-call could still be correct; depending on whether the defender attempted to stop upon contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Coach, I don't care if that's your purpose; it's not a valid purpose, IMO. It's like the shooter who twists his body and jumps into a defender for the purpose of drawing a foul. I'm not giving him a foul simply because he wanted one.

A foul is determined by two things:
1. Who is responsible for the contact?
2. Was the non-responsible player put at a disadvantage?

In the OP, contact can be pretty severe and still not be illegal (assuming the screen was outside the visual field of the defender.) IOW, your screener can end up on the floor with a big bruise and a no-call could still be correct; depending on whether the defender attempted to stop upon contact.
Shaqs,
Different situation from your example. A better example would be if a defender attempts to draw a player control foul -- it intent is to get a foul called -- are you NOT going to call the player control foul because the defender intentionally tried to draw the foul?

The inbounds scenario -- along with several other screening plays at the end of the game -- are all perfectly legal plays attempting to cause the defense to foul. In your example, the offensive player was twisting and attempting to draw contact by initiating the contact. The player initiating the contact is responsible for the contact. In the case of the inbounds play, assuming the screener has allowed appropriate time/distance for the defender to go around the screen, crashing through it should result in a foul according to the rules.

Or am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 11:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Shaqs,
Different situation from your example. A better example would be if a defender attempts to draw a player control foul -- it intent is to get a foul called -- are you NOT going to call the player control foul because the defender intentionally tried to draw the foul?

The inbounds scenario -- along with several other screening plays at the end of the game -- are all perfectly legal plays attempting to cause the defense to foul. In your example, the offensive player was twisting and attempting to draw contact by initiating the contact. The player initiating the contact is responsible for the contact. In the case of the inbounds play, assuming the screener has allowed appropriate time/distance for the defender to go around the screen, crashing through it should result in a foul according to the rules.

Or am I missing something?
In your PC example, I may or may not call the foul, depending on the foul contact rather than the intent and desire of the defender or his coach. FTs are a result (penalty) of a play that took away an advantage or created an illegal advantage; they are not, in and of themselves, an advantage to be considered when determining whether contact warrants a foul.

If the defender is put at a disadvantage by the contact, and the offense is responsible for it, yes I'll call the foul.

Please read, again, the definition of incidental contact I posted earlier in the thread. In the example you give Smitty, it is likely a no-call by rule. Will it get called? Possibly, maybe even likely, depending if the official has the stones to no-call it. BTW, this rule is repeated virtually verbatim in the screening definitions (4-40-7).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Mon Jan 04, 2010 at 11:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 11:16am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
It seems that in 4-40, the time and distance requirements are what a screener must grant an opponent during certain situations. I believe this is irrelevant in how much contact is generated during a blind screen, isn't it?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Yes, he/she can still run the baseline.
representing,
You are showing your "ignorance" to fellow referees, I mean officials. On this officiating forum, please refer to the lines at the end of the court as endlines. In this instance, since you were not speaking to an official, but rather a coach, he likely still understood since he is, as a coach, equally "ignorant."

Coach,
I have used the play you describe several times. It has only worked once -- all other times, we had to have a "Plan B" in order to get an opportunity to score. Sometimes incorporating the screener as the second inbounder can be effecive in relieving the on-ball pressure while using the former inbounder as the receiver -- depending upon the press being employed by the opposition. The more you know.....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 11:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
representing,
You are showing your "ignorance" to fellow referees, I mean officials. On this officiating forum, please refer to the lines at the end of the court as endlines. In this instance, since you were not speaking to an official, but rather a coach, he likely still understood since he is, as a coach, equally "ignorant."
Since other people have already addressed the screen issue with you, I will address this one. Actually whether someone calls the end line a baseline is not the same as someone referring to a foul as "offensive" when the term "offensive foul" has no relevance or definition what so ever in the game. A team control foul has a very specific classification and can determine when or when you do not shoot FTs. An offensive foul can be a foul that has not special application in the rules. You could have an offensive foul and still shoot FTs.

Using the term base line still refers to the same as end line and does not change the basic definition of what it is referring to. Using the term Referee and official have specific definitions which might refer to different people and very specific roles.

If you are going to make a point, at least be right about your point.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Since other people have already addressed the screen issue with you, I will address this one. Actually whether someone calls the end line a baseline is not the same as someone referring to a foul as "offensive" when the term "offensive foul" has no relevance or definition what so ever in the game. A team control foul has a very specific classification and can determine when or when you do not shoot FTs. An offensive foul can be a foul that has not special application in the rules. You could have an offensive foul and still shoot FTs.

Using the term base line still refers to the same as end line and does not change the basic definition of what it is referring to. Using the term Referee and official have specific definitions which might refer to different people and very specific roles.
If you are going to make a point, at least be right about your point.

Peace
JRut,
You would need to be back to the thread concerning a member of the forum calling coaches and officials "ignorant" for using certain terms.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 02:01pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
JRut,
You would need to be back to the thread concerning a member of the forum calling coaches and officials "ignorant" for using certain terms.
I am just pointing out how you do not realize the comments you are making. I do not need to read anything. But if you are going to make an issue out of language, at least get upset about the use of language that is relevant. The teams end line vs. baseline is very minor and do not change the meaning or understanding of the thing you are referencing. I have been here a long time, I think I know the origin of most comments you are referring to.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right Call or Wrong Call Johnny Ringo Football 24 Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1