The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
I meant to ask is this a defensive foul? Is there a call that can be made on the defensive player who ran over the screener?
It's a foul on A-1.....no team control on throw-in, and besides, A doesn't have team control anyway...they lost it on the try which ended in a made basket...B shoots the FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 129
thanks, sorry bout the confusing question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
It's a foul on A-1.....no team control on throw-in, and besides, A doesn't have team control anyway...they lost it on the try which ended in a made basket...B shoots the FTs.
I just wanted to clarify. We practice this, but I didn't know if it would work, or if it's legal. In this example, my team would be Team B. So yes, if executed properly and the correct call was made, my team would be shooting free throws according to your response.

Incidentally, while I've never seen it ran, the coach who taught this tactic to me has tried it once. The referee blew his whistle on the contact. He then declared an inadverdant whistle, reset the clock, and set it up again.

Now in this instance... the inbounds passer cannot run the end line now, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Coach, if the screen is outside the visual vield of the defender, than your player needs to be prepared to take some serious contact. If the defender attempts to stop upon contact, there's no foul, even if the contact is severe.

Your play is perfectly legal, but I'm giving a lot of leeway to the defender on this play to let him try to stop. If I'm not sure, then he tried to stop.

Also, I'll need to double check the rule, but my memory tells me if the ensuing throwin (assuming no bonus) is on the same endline, it will be an endline throwin.

Confirmed: Rule 7-5-7b
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Sun Jan 03, 2010 at 07:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:59pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
I just wanted to clarify. We practice this, but I didn't know if it would work, or if it's legal. In this example, my team would be Team B. So yes, if executed properly and the correct call was made, my team would be shooting free throws according to your response.

Incidentally, while I've never seen it ran, the coach who taught this tactic to me has tried it once. The referee blew his whistle on the contact. He then declared an inadverdant whistle, reset the clock, and set it up again.

Now in this instance... the inbounds passer cannot run the end line now, correct?
No, not correct. The throw-in did not end. The right to run the end line is still there.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No, not correct. The throw-in did not end. The right to run the end line is still there.
How about if a time out was called before the throw in was attempted or any contact? Can the inbounds passer still run the end line after the time out and plpay is resumed?

This isn't a fishing trip, as you guys know, us coaches often don't have good knowledge of the rules. I am just trying to learn
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
How about if a time out was called before the throw in was attempted or any contact? Can the inbounds passer still run the end line after the time out and plpay is resumed?

This isn't a fishing trip, as you guys know, us coaches often don't have good knowledge of the rules. I am just trying to learn
Yes, he/she can still run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
To answer the question the OP intended to ask, yes the play is legal. I might very well no-call the contact, especially if the screener wasn't displaced. The purpose of the screen is to give the thrower space to get the ball in, and if that purpose is met, then the screener hasn't been disadvantaged. Defender has hurt only himself, and whatever advantage has been gained by the B team (legal advantage), might be taken away if a whistle is blown.

I'm not saying I'm sure that's how I'd call it, just looking at possibilities.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
To answer the question the OP intended to ask, yes the play is legal. I might very well no-call the contact, especially if the screener wasn't displaced. The purpose of the screen is to give the thrower space to get the ball in, and if that purpose is met, then the screener hasn't been disadvantaged. Defender has hurt only himself, and whatever advantage has been gained by the B team (legal advantage), might be taken away if a whistle is blown.

I'm not saying I'm sure that's how I'd call it, just looking at possibilities.
Juulie,
Quite honestly, THE MAJOR PURPOSE of running such a play IS TO DRAW FOUL caused by the contact. While I understand your view (and it is a good thought in nearly all cases), in this case, as a COACH, I really WANT (and NEED) you to call the foul so we can shoot free throws (I probably have my best FTer setting the screen).

The play is completely legal. An officiating crew should call this foul if warranted -- proper time/distance and there was enough contact to warrant a foul (would the foul have been called on the offensive end for any other "on ball" screen?).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Yes, he/she can still run the baseline.
representing,
You are showing your "ignorance" to fellow referees, I mean officials. On this officiating forum, please refer to the lines at the end of the court as endlines. In this instance, since you were not speaking to an official, but rather a coach, he likely still understood since he is, as a coach, equally "ignorant."

Coach,
I have used the play you describe several times. It has only worked once -- all other times, we had to have a "Plan B" in order to get an opportunity to score. Sometimes incorporating the screener as the second inbounder can be effecive in relieving the on-ball pressure while using the former inbounder as the receiver -- depending upon the press being employed by the opposition. The more you know.....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 11:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
representing,
You are showing your "ignorance" to fellow referees, I mean officials. On this officiating forum, please refer to the lines at the end of the court as endlines. In this instance, since you were not speaking to an official, but rather a coach, he likely still understood since he is, as a coach, equally "ignorant."
Since other people have already addressed the screen issue with you, I will address this one. Actually whether someone calls the end line a baseline is not the same as someone referring to a foul as "offensive" when the term "offensive foul" has no relevance or definition what so ever in the game. A team control foul has a very specific classification and can determine when or when you do not shoot FTs. An offensive foul can be a foul that has not special application in the rules. You could have an offensive foul and still shoot FTs.

Using the term base line still refers to the same as end line and does not change the basic definition of what it is referring to. Using the term Referee and official have specific definitions which might refer to different people and very specific roles.

If you are going to make a point, at least be right about your point.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
I didn't say that. I said that if I don't know why a T was called -like for example on one of my players- then it would be in everyone's best interest to inform me why the T was called so I can take corrective action to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Let's keep that discussion on that thread, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
I just wanted to clarify. We practice this, but I didn't know if it would work, or if it's legal. In this example, my team would be Team B. So yes, if executed properly and the correct call was made, my team would be shooting free throws according to your response.

Incidentally, while I've never seen it ran, the coach who taught this tactic to me has tried it once. The referee blew his whistle on the contact. He then declared an inadverdant whistle, reset the clock, and set it up again.

Now in this instance... the inbounds passer cannot run the end line now, correct?
Yes, it could work. Yes, it's legal. Yes, it would be a foul on the team that just scored (or else a no call). It's not that uncommon (at least once the situation -- team inbounding, running the end-line, with a few seconds left and behind by a point or two)

If there was an inadvertant whistle, the team would still be able to run the end-line.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Let's keep that discussion on that thread, please.
No problem, I'm going to go sit down now, but just for the record I did get the last word in on the off topic

Quote:
If there was an inadvertant whistle, the team would still be able to run the end-line.
Ok, thanks

Last edited by bbcoach7; Sun Jan 03, 2010 at 07:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcoach7 View Post
I just wanted to clarify. We practice this, but I didn't know if it would work, or if it's legal. In this example, my team would be Team B. So yes, if executed properly and the correct call was made, my team would be shooting free throws according to your response.

Incidentally, while I've never seen it ran, the coach who taught this tactic to me has tried it once. The referee blew his whistle on the contact. He then declared an inadverdant whistle, reset the clock, and set it up again.

Now in this instance... the inbounds passer cannot run the end line now, correct?
Incorrect. the ball was never inbounded. A still may run the endline.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Right Call or Wrong Call Johnny Ringo Football 24 Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1