![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It's a foul on A-1.....no team control on throw-in, and besides, A doesn't have team control anyway...they lost it on the try which ended in a made basket...B shoots the FTs.
|
|
|||
|
thanks, sorry bout the confusing question
Quote:
Incidentally, while I've never seen it ran, the coach who taught this tactic to me has tried it once. The referee blew his whistle on the contact. He then declared an inadverdant whistle, reset the clock, and set it up again. Now in this instance... the inbounds passer cannot run the end line now, correct? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This isn't a fishing trip, as you guys know, us coaches often don't have good knowledge of the rules. I am just trying to learn |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
To answer the question the OP intended to ask, yes the play is legal. I might very well no-call the contact, especially if the screener wasn't displaced. The purpose of the screen is to give the thrower space to get the ball in, and if that purpose is met, then the screener hasn't been disadvantaged. Defender has hurt only himself, and whatever advantage has been gained by the B team (legal advantage), might be taken away if a whistle is blown.
I'm not saying I'm sure that's how I'd call it, just looking at possibilities.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
|
representing,
You are showing your "ignorance" to fellow referees, I mean officials. On this officiating forum, please refer to the lines at the end of the court as endlines. In this instance, since you were not speaking to an official, but rather a coach, he likely still understood since he is, as a coach, equally "ignorant." ![]() Coach, I have used the play you describe several times. It has only worked once -- all other times, we had to have a "Plan B" in order to get an opportunity to score. Sometimes incorporating the screener as the second inbounder can be effecive in relieving the on-ball pressure while using the former inbounder as the receiver -- depending upon the press being employed by the opposition. The more you know..... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If there was an inadvertant whistle, the team would still be able to run the end-line. |
|
|||
|
No problem, I'm going to go sit down now, but just for the record I did get the last word in on the off topic
![]() Quote:
Last edited by bbcoach7; Sun Jan 03, 2010 at 07:19pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Right Call or Wrong Call | Johnny Ringo | Football | 24 | Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:19pm |
| When the obvious call isn't the right call | Don Mueller | Baseball | 28 | Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |