![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Why? Because a player jumping from OOB will have committed a violation as soon as they touch the ball no matter if it was tipped or not and without regard to where they land. A player, A1, jumping from thier FC to catch a throwin and landing in their backcourt may or may not be guilty of a violation depending on whether another player first touched the ball or not....as in a defender getting a fingertip on the ball just before A1 catches the ball. The rule SHOULD be that the exception would apply until a team gains control of the ball (not just until the throwin ends)....and if such control is gained by an airborne player, that player is allowed a normal landing. I'm less inclined to make any argument that the exception should apply through a catch/pass to a teammate in the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Sep 24, 2009 at 12:47pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt | COBBallRef | Basketball | 17 | Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:20am |
| Backcourt ? | missinglink | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am |
| backcourt | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am |
| backcourt | missinglink | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm |
| backcourt? | BigDave | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am |