The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 23, 2009, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
It's a violation. I know that this is either a casebook play, annual interpretation, or a recent IAABO Refresher Test question, but I can't find it. Looked twice. Can anyone out there help me?
Billy
It's 9.9.1 in the casebook, Situation D.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 06:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
9.9.1 SITUATION D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's
throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball
in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The
throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in
the air after having left the floor from Team A’s frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt
status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a back-
court violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in
ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 06:37am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Almost Only Counts In Horseshoes And Hand Grenades ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
It's 9.9.1 in the casebook, Situation D.
Thanks, but I was actually looking for a citation where the player catching the throwin pass while in a midair jump from frontcourt to backcourt (backcourt rule exception) makes a second pass to a teammate who is already in the backcourt. In the citation I'm thinking of there is no complicating deflection by a defensive player. Still looking for that one. Help, please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
If you're talking about a throw-in where A2 is the first to legally touch the ball in bounds and is airborne after jumping from the frontcourt and taps to A3 in the backcourt, then yes, it is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
If you're talking about a throw-in where A2 is the first to legally touch the ball in bounds and is airborne after jumping from the frontcourt and taps to A3 in the backcourt, then yes, it is a violation.

That depends on how you define "tips" or "taps".

If it was a "catch and throw", then TC was established, so it's a violation. If it was a "deflection" (or "batting the ball away from other players")then TC wasn't established, so the play is legal.

(Or, if you would grant A's request for a TO at exactly the time A2 tipped / tapped the ball, then it's a violation; otherwise it's not.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That depends on how you define "tips" or "taps".

If it was a "catch and throw", then TC was established, so it's a violation. If it was a "deflection" (or "batting the ball away from other players")then TC wasn't established, so the play is legal.

(Or, if you would grant A's request for a TO at exactly the time A2 tipped / tapped the ball, then it's a violation; otherwise it's not.)
You're right. I didn't read carefully enough about the "tipped" part. I'm thinking of the OP and the case book play where A2 catches and throws to teammate A3 who is standing in the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
You're right. I didn't read carefully enough about the "tipped" part. I'm thinking of the OP and the case book play where A2 catches and throws to teammate A3 who is standing in the BC.
Bob beat me to it but yes, it's funny how on a throwin - an airborne A2 can or cannot trigger a violation based on tipping or "catch and pass" to a backcourt A3 player.

Too bad the rules cannot be written that show the backcourt/frontcourt line does not even exist until there is TC "on the floor".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt COBBallRef Basketball 17 Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:20am
Backcourt ? missinglink Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am
backcourt A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am
backcourt missinglink Basketball 13 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm
backcourt? BigDave Basketball 5 Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1