Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  M&M Guy
					 
				 
				Should the IB/OOB line also not be in effect until the player lands as well? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Irrelevant.
 
Why?
 
Because a player jumping from OOB will have committed a violation as soon as they touch the ball no matter if it was tipped or not and without regard to where they land.
 
A player, A1, jumping from thier FC to catch a throwin and landing in their backcourt may or may not be guilty of a violation depending on whether another player first touched the ball or not....as in a defender getting a fingertip on the ball just before A1 catches the ball.
 
The rule SHOULD be that the exception would apply until a team gains control of the ball (not just until the throwin ends)....and if such control is gained by an airborne player, that player is allowed a normal landing. I'm less inclined to make any argument that the exception should apply through a catch/pass to a teammate in the backcourt.