Thread: Backcourt?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 23, 2009, 02:55pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fathertime View Post
Had a debate with other officials. We all agree that on an inbounds pass from A1, A2 is allowed to jump from the frontcourt, catch the ball, and land in the backcourt without having a backcourt violation occur.

The debate is whether A2 is allowed to jump from the frontcourt, catch the ball, and while still in the air, pass the ball to A3 who is standing in the backcourt. In this case, A2 is the first to legally touch the ball on the inbounds pass. 9.9.3 covers the rule. The casebook says this exeption is only for the player that makes the initial touch on the ball. The confusing thing in the casebook is it deals with a touch by B1 in the frontcourt prior to A2 touching it.

Help us clear this situation up. Thanks.
The rule only allows the player who catches the ball to jump from FC and land in BC.

When A2 caught the ball, he had FC status, he established team control with the catch and ended the throw-in. When A3 touches the ball in the BC, violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote