![]() |
|
|
|||
OK, guys. Here's some nit-picky background NF rules info to help.
In order to have a back court violation, four conditions must be present. If any one of these conditions is missing, there is no violation - no exceptions. 1) There must be team control 2) The ball must have achieved front court status 3) The team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in front court 4) That same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court Also remember - during a time of no team control (like during an NF throwin), team control is established when a player establishes player control. Player control is defined as a player holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Hope that helps some of you. BTW - I spent a month in Wisconsin one night.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch a ball...............if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt........
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Ok, I think I get it how #3 doesn't work in all situations.
The thing I don't understand with 9-9-2, however, is that the ball is considered in the frontcourt only if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt (4-4-2). Why, in 9-9-2 and in Snaqs' example, would the ball suddenly obtain frontcourt status is the player is still located in the backcourt? |
|
|||
Hopefully I can still salvage this, then, but let's go into this a little further. It's a backcourt violoation when:
9.9.1 - A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt This seems to jive with the list provided by Mark, including point 3. Just trying to clear this one up is all. Last edited by Rufus; Tue Sep 01, 2009 at 02:52pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
3. The team in team control must have been the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
That's right.
There's a case play where A1 in teh BC passes th ball to the FC. The ball hits an offical and bounces back to the BC, where A1 is the first to touch. The ball was never touched (by a player) in the FC, yet it's a BC violation. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt | oc | Basketball | 83 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:23pm |
backcourt? | missinglink | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 26, 2006 01:49am |
Backcourt | gostars | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:56pm |
Backcourt | Laker D | Basketball | 14 | Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am |
Backcourt?? | Rock'nRef | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm |