![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
I would hate to explain to a coach that if A2 had only let the ball bounce it would not be a violation.
Would this change anything? Same but B1 knocks the ball off A3 who is in the frontcourt. A1 in backcourt catches the ball in air, after the ball bounces in the back/ or in the front then bouce again in the back. ugh. maybe too much craziness. Honestly, official rule or not I just might let it slide. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
The interp Nevada refers to, however, makes this not true during normal play when Team control has been established in the FC. And, for the record, if your play happens then, it's a violation. It doesn't matter if B1 tips the ball before it hits A3. If A3 is the last to touch it in the FC, and he or a teammate is the first to touch it in the BC, it's a violation as long as team control was ongoing when A3 touched it last in the FC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
OK, guys. Here's some nit-picky background NF rules info to help.
In order to have a back court violation, four conditions must be present. If any one of these conditions is missing, there is no violation - no exceptions. 1) There must be team control 2) The ball must have achieved front court status 3) The team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in front court 4) That same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court Also remember - during a time of no team control (like during an NF throwin), team control is established when a player establishes player control. Player control is defined as a player holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Hope that helps some of you. BTW - I spent a month in Wisconsin one night.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch a ball...............if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt........
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Hopefully I can still salvage this, then, but let's go into this a little further. It's a backcourt violoation when:
9.9.1 - A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt This seems to jive with the list provided by Mark, including point 3. Just trying to clear this one up is all. Last edited by Rufus; Tue Sep 01, 2009 at 02:52pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
3. The team in team control must have been the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
That's right.
There's a case play where A1 in teh BC passes th ball to the FC. The ball hits an offical and bounces back to the BC, where A1 is the first to touch. The ball was never touched (by a player) in the FC, yet it's a BC violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Again, while I'm not a fan of the interp, I can kinda see what they are trying to do. Let me give an example - A1 throws a pass that hits B1, who happens to be standing OOB. A1 "caused" the ball to go OOB by hitting B1 (the ball has the same location as the player it touches), so why doesn't B get the throw-in? Because of that same simultaneous theory - the touch by B1 was, in effect, the last to touch inbounds, and also the first to touch OOB, causing the violation by B1, not A1. Normally I would disagree, but if I find out they're meeting in WI, all bets are off.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
||||
|
The OOB rule is not the same as the backcourt rule. For OOB, it's very clearly defined that the player standing OOB causes the ball to be OOB when he touches it. For backcourt, this is not the rule.
It very specifically says the team must be the last to touch it in the FC and the first to touch it in the backcourt. If they can see one event satisfying both criteria, then their better than Scotty, because they can change the laws of physics. And if they decide to meet in WI, I would hope they would tell all the members so someone doesn't wander around unaware that he's missing a powerful meeting of the minds that could change history.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| backcourt | oc | Basketball | 83 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:23pm |
| backcourt? | missinglink | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 26, 2006 01:49am |
| Backcourt | gostars | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:56pm |
| Backcourt | Laker D | Basketball | 14 | Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am |
| Backcourt?? | Rock'nRef | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm |