The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 77
Boys 8th grade. Loose ball at mid court. Ball was in A frontcourt but not in team control, having been intercepted by B1 who promptly fumbled the ball toward the division line. A1 dives from his front court on his side and secures control of the ball when the ball is just about right on the division line. With the slide, ball is in backcourt, torso and above are in backcourt, hips and below are in A front court. Ugly play that looks like a backcourt violation even though my instincts told me no violation yet. I was bailed by the kid signalling for a timeout which I gladly granted (easy escape). What is the player's court status? He had front court status when he started his slide but didn't control the ball until he was touching both sides of the line and the ball was definitely in backcourt. I don't remember this one on the quiz.
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:12am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by missinglink
What is the player's court status? He ....... didn't control the ball until he was touching both sides of the line and the ball was definitely in backcourt.
No violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
If he didn't control the ball until he was on the line, then A has secured team control in their backcourt: "ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds,or inside the three-point line, respectively." Ergo, not a violation.

Let's make this more interesting. What if the A player had begun his slide and secured the ball in frontcourt, but the momentum of his slide took him across the line. Do we have a violation?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
If he didn't control the ball until he was on the line, then A has secured team control in their backcourt: "ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds,or inside the three-point line, respectively." Ergo, not a violation.

Let's make this more interesting. What if the A player had begun his slide and secured the ball in frontcourt, but the momentum of his slide took him across the line. Do we have a violation?
Well, duh.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
If he didn't control the ball until he was on the line, then A has secured team control in their backcourt: "ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds,or inside the three-point line, respectively." Ergo, not a violation.

Let's make this more interesting. What if the A player had begun his slide and secured the ball in frontcourt, but the momentum of his slide took him across the line. Do we have a violation?
Well, duh.
Shut up.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:27am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Let's make this more interesting. What if the A player had begun his slide and secured the ball in frontcourt, but the momentum of his slide took him across the line. Do we have a violation?
How far did the player in this more interesting play slide?
I would say in the real world it might be quite difficult to decide at what point in a slide control was actually achieved. When in doubt, no violation in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
If he didn't control the ball until he was on the line, then A has secured team control in their backcourt: "ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds,or inside the three-point line, respectively." Ergo, not a violation.

Let's make this more interesting. What if the A player had begun his slide and secured the ball in frontcourt, but the momentum of his slide took him across the line. Do we have a violation?
Well, duh.
Shut up.
Ray, you really need to clean up your act. You're getting downright mean these days!! I mean really!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I'm glad I re-read this post. I had a violation at first until I realized that B had "intercepted" the pass rather than merely tipping it.

Must be the elevation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2006, 01:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
"If I wanted to bang my head against the wall, I'd try explaining the intricacies of the back court violation to a Jr. High coach."
Good signature line!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1